Motivation Monday… Early on a Tuesday Morning

Posted: March 27, 2012 in Articles, Music, Quotes, S&S Workouts

Today. Do something today.

I wrote this while en route to Grand Rapids from Atlanta last night (so it was technically still Monday!), but I pretty much crashed when I finally got home, unpacked, and ate.

It was a weekend away for me, which doesn’t happen often these days. And though it was nice to see my sister and her husband and daughter, it was a weekend of eating out, not many fruits and veggies, no official workouts, and lots of unconventional working out (packing, lifting, moving, walking the dog, chasing my niece, etc.). Needless to say I feel out of sorts and am a little nervous about how well I’m going to transition back into my busy, active schedule. So I need a few pushes… Here’s what I’m doing…

Latest Jams
“Laserbeam” by Flipsyde
“Black and Yellow” by Wiz Khalifa

Cool Quotes
“The purpose of life is not to win. The purpose of life is to grow and share. When you come to look back on all that you have done in your life, you will get more satisfaction from the pleasure you have brought into other people’s lives than you will from the times that you outdid and defeated them.” –Rabbi Harold Kushner

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit.” –Aristotle

“Motivation will almost always beat mere talent.” –Norman R. Augustine

“You must begin to think of yourself as becoming the person you want to be.” –David Viscott

Workout Move I’m Trying This Week
*Courtesy of Men’s Health magazine

The Death Crawl

Begin in pushup position with each hand holding a dumbbell. Do a pushup and hold in plank. Row your left arm up, then your right. Walk your left hand forward one “step,” followed by the foot, then your right hand and foot. Move forward two more “steps” per hand. Step your feet in, just wider than your hands (so your feet are just wider than your hips, toes turned out), stand up, and complete three squat jumps (squat down, butt back and down, knees behind toes, then jump up) still holding the weights. That’s one rep. Complete 2-3 sets of 5-10 reps.

Reading About
Cathe has more great articles on eating healthy without going crazy. Read about how to make more healthy food swaps and how to eat nuts without over-portioning them and gaining weight.

Leave a comment