Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted: November 22, 2012 in S&S Tips&Tricks

He he. This sounds like something I would do. But I didn’t. Dangit. I dropped the ball.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

I am thankful. For a great many things. I encourage you to make a list of things you are thankful for today and make a promise to take advantage of and then also respect them.

I am thankful for my wonderful, supportive, loving family. I’ve already told every one of them that and I am also spending the day with my parents.

I am thankful for my amazing, encouraging, fun, loving boyfriend.  I already told him that, too, and plan to stay in touch with him all day, despite us being apart for the weekend.

I am thankful that my eyes can see, my ears can hear, and my body can move. I will be taking a walk/jog outside later, talking and listening to family and friends, and exercising for a second time today (I already got one sweat session in!).

I am thankful for the privilege of an abundance of delicious food. I will try a little of everything that looks good, but only stick to homemade stuff versus the store-bought goodies. And I’m promising myself not to go overboard. Just because I don’t have it often doesn’t mean I can’t have it again, so there’s no sense in gorging myself and feeling disgusting.

 

What are you thankful for and how are you going to honor those things?

 

A few tips and tricks to get you in the mindset of a happy, healthy Thanksgiving:

  • Create a lighter dinner by substituting: skim milk for whole milk, roasted veggies for creamed ones, and fresh veggies and fruit versus canned versions.
  • Focus on still getting in your servings of veggies and fruit in. Eat some fruit for breakfast. Break it out as a snack. Request it as a dish at dinner (or bring it!). Same for veggies. Snack on raw veggies throughout the day and get some in at dinner, too. It won’t negate all of the other calories, but it’ll fill you up a bit and help you get your daily vitamins, minerals, healthy carbs, and natural fiber servings in!
  • You can let yourself indulge! Just stick to modest proportions and don’t go back for more than one serving.
  • Savor every bite. Focus on the taste, the smell, the color, the texture. Experience your food.
  • Don’t even think about how you’ll have to go on a diet tomorrow. There is no better day to focus on control and a healthy LIFESTYLE than today.
  • Try not to imbibe too many cocktails. Alcohol means cravings.
  • Remember the day is about way more than eating and Black Friday shopping planning. ENJOY your family and friends. RELAX. Spend QUALITY TIME with people. Listen, learn, talk, and smile.

 

Enjoy. Laugh. Smile. Love. And play. Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

Leave a Reply

