There’s No Easy Way Out….

Posted: November 21, 2012 in Music, S&S Tips&Tricks

What you’d have to do in order to burn off what you usually eat on Thanksgiving…. Are some foods really worth it?

This is my pre-Thanksgiving pep talk, brought to you in part by the wonderful car and old-school workout jam “No Easy Way Out” by Robert Tepper. Yes, it is the song from Rocky IV after Apollo dies and Rocky is cruisin’ in his car deciding whether or not to fight Drago. Yes, Rocky IV is my favorite of the Rocky movies. Yes, I do hope it’s on TV tomorrow. Yes, I do dramatically sing along to it in the car. And while I teach Spinning….

Aside from that, this post was inspired partially as I spun to that song this morning. Because it’s true when it comes to fitness–there’s no easy way out, there’s no shortcut home. What do I mean by that? There is no shortcut to health and fitness. There is no magic pill or magic machine to get you lean and ripped. It’s all about hard work, because we’re not indestructible–we need to take care of ourselves. You can’t eat like crap today, say you’ll do better tomorrow, and then expect everything to be easy. Same goes for exercise. Being, feeling, and looking healthier is a matter of constant vigilance (Mad-Eye Moody, anyone?)–you need to be constantly aware of what you put into your body, when, how much, and what you do to expend calories. No, it’s not rocket science (vegetables are better than candy, water is better than juice), but there isn’t an easy way to achieve those things. You have to work at it day in and day out. Truthfully, I do, too.

I have a lot of trouble during the holidays because I am such a simple eater at my own home. When I’m with my family for the holidays, there is food that I never cook or bake, so my eyes and taste buds go into overdrive. And because of my history of being a binge eater, I really have to watch myself. It sucks. It’s hard. I’m not pretending it’s easy. And it’s not always fun to stop eating something before you feel like you should, but sometimes you just have to in order to save yourself.

It’s very true that Thanksgiving meals can pack an extra few THOUSAND calories on you. Most people eat a good two times as much as normal. Don’t be one of the statistics. Be your own statistic. Choose homemade foods over store-bought ones. Take walks throughout the day. Offer to play with the kids outside or run laundry and food up and down the stairs.

There’s no easy way, there’s not shortcut home, but givin’ in CAN be wrong.

Take care of yourself this Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

