Motivation Monday

Posted: October 15, 2012 in Music, Quotes, S&S Tips&Tricks, S&S Workouts

Look at that perfectly-executed squat! He’s going to have a good man-booty some day.

It was a weekend of indulging. And not hitting the gym very often. Doug and I decided to make it our cooking-baking-relaxing-Halloween-movie weekend. It was cold, lazy, and fun. But honestly, I’m ready to get back at it. I’m ready to work out hard, to sweat, to try some new, yummy, healthy recipes, and to spend less time sitting and more time being productive. That may sound crazy, but it feels great! I feel refreshed, rejuvenated, not tired, not sore. I feel motivated to get back into high gear.

You know you wanna join me 😀

So how can you feel as great as I do?

Simple….

Tricksy Trickster (Tips and tricks to make you healthier)

  • Put a drop of two of lemon juice or peppermint in your water. Both give your water a hint of taste and freshness while giving your metabolism a little kick in the rear-end.
  • Make it a point to do squats, lunges, jumping jacks, or standing ab twists every time you’re waiting by the oven or microwave, or during commercials of your favorite show. Burns calories, keeps you from getting too bored, and keeps you warm!
  • Take 10 minutes and look online at your favorite/usual grocery stores’ ads. Find out what’s healthy and on sale (Meijer has apples on sale!) and load up this week. Make it a point to each whatever is on sale that you buy at least once a day.
  • “Like” health and fitness magazines’ pages on Facebook. They always link to workouts, recipes, music, articles, and other health-related issues so you don’t have to subscribe to the magazine!
  • Find a workout video on YouTube of some form of exercise you’ve been waiting to try. Guys, you been curious about Zumba or Pilates? Ladies, you been too nervous to try Kickboxing or a bodyweight challenge class? YouTube it and try it in the comfort and privacy of your home. Bonus: You don’t have to put on socks, shoes, or even a shirt in your own home!

Drop a Beat! (Music to work it out to)
“Barbra Streisand” by Duck Sauce
“Turn Around, Pt. 2” by Flo Rida & Pitbull
“Remember the Name” by Fort Minor

To Thine Own Self Be True (Quotes to read over and over)
“Never look back unless you are planning to go that way.” –Henry David Thoreau, American author and poet

“I will act now. I will act now. I will act now. Henceforth, I will repeat these words each hour, each day, every day, until the words become as much a habit as my breathing, and the action which follows becomes as instinctive as the blinking of my eyelids. With these words I can condition my mind to perform every action necessary for my success. I will act now. I will repeat these words again and again and again. I will walk where failures fear to walk. I will work when failures seek rest. I will act now for now is all I have. Tomorrow is the day reserved for the labor of the lazy. I am not lazy. Tomorrow is the day when the failure will succeed. I am not a failure. I will act now. Success will not wait. If I delay, success will become wed to another and lost to me forever. This is the time. This is the place. I am the person.” –Og Mandino, American author

Do It To It, Lars! (My workout challenge for you)
*Complete the following exercises back-to-back for 1 MINUTE EACH, no breaks if you can. No need for weights. Complete 1-3 rounds through.

  • Butt kicks with bicep curl arms
  • Regular squats
  • Jumping jacks
  • Pushups
  • Wide-leg squats
  • Bicycle crunches
  • High knees
  • Close-leg squats
  • Tricep dips (preferably off a table, chair, desk, stool, or couch)
  • Forearm plank
Leave a Reply

