Foodalicious Friday — What I’m Obsessed With

Posted: July 13, 2012 in Recipes, S&S Tips&Tricks

I really liked this image/saying. So true.

The grammar guru in my knows I’m not supposed to capitalize “with,” but it looks so odd being the only one not capitalized that I had to. There, confession done! 🙂

Confession #2: I had a food-related accident this week. It was Tuesday and I was snacking on some peanut butter and celery in the afternoon when I felt the last piece of celery go down my throat wrong. And it felt like I hadn’t swallowed it all. Water wouldn’t push it down. Iced tea. Ice cubes. Bread. Two different kinds of bread. Peach pie. Gum. Nothing. It got to the point where I was so uncomfortable, I was in pain due to the swelling this stuck piece was causing, and it hurt to talk and breathe and swallow. But, of course, I had two classes to teach! So I made the first one, but had to hand off my second one to another instructor so I could go to the Med Center. My mom and Doug came with and a good 30-40 minutes later, as I sat on the paper-lined table, the nurse goes, “Oh yeah, wow, I can see something stuck” after I had explained what was going on. So, as my Mom held the little light, Doug held my waist and my hand, and the nurse held a pair of tweezers, she reached into my throat to extract the piece. Alas, it was stuck in some sort of pocket. Awesome. She left for a longer pair of tweezers. Wow. A few minutes later, she extracted the “L”-shaped celery piece from my throat. I immediately felt better. Thank goodness I don’t have much of a gag reflex, but it definitely wasn’t comfy! Thankfully I’m all better now, though. Pretty amazing, right? Haha, and I tell people to eat healthy!

Moving on now.

Today I’m going to talk about how and what I’ve been eating lately. I’ve had a lot of clients and friends ask how to eat and sadly, there isn’t one answer — everyone is different. For me, what I’ve found is this….

  • I feel best, fuller longer, and not as hungry at night if I eat a bigger, healthier breakfast. As in, a glass of water, some coffee, and a peanut butter and banana sandwich with natural peanut butter and wheat bread. I get hydrated and fuel myself with carbs, protein, whole grains, and some fruit!
  • I feel best if I don’t eat a lot of heavy, starchy carbs after 3/4pm. Carbs are fuel. Your body NEEDS them. However, too much = carb comma and bloated tummy. So while I often do eat rice or potatoes for dinner, I limit the amount to a very small (1/4 – 1/2c.) serving.
  • I feel best, fuller longer, and not as hungry at night when I eat or drink a lot of protein. I invested in protein powder and make shakes when I know it’s going to be a crazy day; I eat a lot of nuts (almonds are my fav) and peanut butter (natural kinds!); and I drink the chocolate Premier Protein Shakes when I’m really on the go.
  • I feel best when I drink water and coffee in the morning and then water and tea at night. I love drinking Celestial Seasoning’s Honey Lemon Ginseng tea after dinner to help me digest.
  • My goal every day is to eat as many whole, real, raw foods as possible before I enjoy an processed foods. I opt for snacks like fresh, seasonal fruits (blueberries, watermelon, nectarines, other berries) and veggies that are easy on-the-go (cucumbers, carrots, celery). I also take a little bag of nuts with me if I’ll really be gone a long time or I know I’ll be someplace without the best food choices.
  • I eat something every 2-3 hours to keep my metabolism going and to keep me from getting cranky and way too hungry!

I hope that helps a little. I’m not a vegetarian, vegan, or anything like that. I eat most everything in moderation.

I am obsessed with a few food-y things right now that I’ll share….

What are YOU obsessed with food-wise right now!?

Leave a Reply

