Foodalicious Friday

Posted: July 6, 2012 in Recipes

Although I do love a good burrito and this is funny…. These homemade dishes are fast, cheap, delicious, and good for you!


I’m not sure how it’s already a week into July…. Or Friday again…. Or that “summer” is halfway over, basically. Dang you, crazy-humid heat! I think it’s been making me a little loopy. Welcome to Michigan, where the weather is as unpredictable as Kim Kardashian’s relationship status.

Doug and I have experimented with a few things lately and I wanted to share our findings!

Healthy Fruity Protein Milkshake
*Shout-out to my girlfriend Erin Z for the tip on this one! WOOT!

In a blender, mix:

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 3-5 ice cubes
  • A splash of water
  • ½-1c. almond milk (or you could do skim milk)
  • A handful or two of frozen or fresh berries (I like raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries right now)

Blend until smooth and pour into shaker for easy on-the-go-ness or into a tall glass to enjoy immediately. I don’t know the exact calorie count, but the protein powder I get has 30g of protein and 130 calories per scoop, the almond milk is 60 calories per 1 cup, and berries are relatively low-calorie, so I’m guessing my shake is anywhere between 200 and 300 calories. And it keeps me full for a solid few hours. And tastes like a milkshake!!!

 

Honey-Glazed Shrimp and Potatoes
*Big high-five to Doug for this spontaneous creation!

In a big saucepan, mix:

  • 1-2 potatoes, diced into small chunks
  • About 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 12-16 pre-cooked shrimp, thawed and cut in half
  • A few dashes of sea salt and pepper
  • 1-2 Tbsp. honey

Place the potatoes in the pan with the olive oil, salt, and pepper on medium to medium-high heat. Wait 2-3 minutes before adding the shrimp halves. Wait another 1-2 minutes and add the honey. Now cook like you normally would—until the potatoes are lightly brown and the shrimp start to get a little color. Serve with your favorite vegetable and enjoy the slightly sweet, but not overpowering taste of the added honey! And it’s okay because honey is good for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

