Foodalicious Friday – Protein Powder

Posted: June 22, 2012 in Recipes

This is the kind I bought and so far, not bad.

Yesterday I experimented — other than my coffee, which I have with a splash of skim milk and 1/2 Splenda packet, I ate all whole, real, raw foods until dinner. Examples: celery with natural chunky peanut butter, grapes, carrots, almonds, walnuts, sunflower seeds, pistachios, an apple, and bananas. I felt great until a mid-day, but I always experience a slump then and within the next hour (and an apple and almonds later), I felt fine. It’s funny, too, because after I had dinner I didn’t feel very good. I felt bloated and stomachache-y and just not very comfortable.

My new goal is going to be to eat completely raw, whole, real foods at least once during the week, for the whole day. You should try it — it’s not that hard and it actually feels good!

I finally invested in protein powder. I haven’t been feeling full for long enough, due in part to the amount of protein I’ve been ingesting. Since I don’t buy a lot of meat and am on the go a lot, Doug told me to get the kind he drinks — Cellucor Sport Sport. It’s called performance isolated whey protein and I got the chocolate and vanilla kinds. Each has 12 servings (1 scoop) per bag, with the following per serving: 130 calories, 5g of fat, 50g of sodium, 3g carbohydrates, 1g dietary fiber, 1g sugar, and 30g protein. That’s pretty dang good. I won’t lie, though, the consistency when made into a shake gets some getting used to, but that may be in part to the shake I’ve been making…

Protein Shake

  • 1 scoop whey protein (I’ve been doing the chocolate)
  • 1/3c. quick oats
  • 1 banana
  • 1 Tbsp. natural peanut butter (I have chunky)
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • 3-5 ice cubes
  • 1/3-1/2 c. water

Blend everything in a blender until smooth enough to drink.

Honestly, I’m not sure what the calorie count is. If I had to guess based on what I know about calorie counts of everything, it’d be about 400 calories for a 16oz. shake. That’s average for a standard, good breakfast. Since I haven’t been used to whey protein, it often takes me an hour of on-off sipping interspersed with water to drink it all. But seriously, it keeps me full for HOURS. I won’t be hungry until close to lunchtime now.

Here’s another shake I’ll be gathering ingredients to try soon!

Infamous Green Smoothie

  • 2-3 cups packed spinach or kale
  • 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup banana
  • 3/4 cup of plain pumpkin puree
  • 1 serving of protein/vitamin supplement
  • Almond milk or filtered water until you reach your desired consistency

 

Nothing beats real, raw, whole foods, but it’s hard to get your daily intake of protein in, especially if you’re trying to gain muscle, lose more weight, or you’re as active as I am. That’s why protein powder is a good helper!

Let me know what you think of the these shakes…. Or if you’ve tried any other good ones!

Comments
  1. Jessica says:

    You should add some flax seed (http://www.webmd.com/diet/features/benefits-of-flaxseed) to your smoothies – i’ve been trying to do that more as it has a TON of greatness in it, and has been shown to help reduce cancer risks. If you just a T or two, you don’t notice it a whole lot, and it has kind of a nutty flavor. Another thing i try to always add to smoothies is Kale (http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/the-truth-about-kale) another super food. I’m with you though – i have no idea how many calories in my smoothies, here is what else i usually add: blue berries, strawberries, 1 banana, 1/2 c almond milk, splash of real vanilla, kale, flax seed, carrots, ice.

    thanks for the tips on a “raw food” day – I usually do that for one meal a day, i’m going to shoot for a whole day of it though!

    • Yeah, Jess, I’ve been meaning to buy myself some flaxseeds because I’ve been reading great things about their benefits. I just need to actually go get them! Where do you get your kale?

      The whole raw-food day honestly wasn’t bad. I just washed everything the night before and got it ready. You definitely have to eat a lot of nuts throughout the day to stay fueled and proteined, but I love them so it wasn’t hard for me!

  2. Z says:

    Definitely need to try the green smoothie.
    I usually just make a protein shake after my workout for breakfast so I can drink it in class. I usually use:

    1 -1 1/2 cup Unsweetend Original almond milk
    1/3 cup unsweetend frozen fruit (usually a mixed medley of raspberry, blueberry, and blackberry)
    One scoop protein powder

    I have also added a tablespoon of nonfat plain yogurt to make it a little bit thicker when I was getting used to the protein powder.

    🙂

  3. Antonia Bucciarelli says:

    i always take protein powder because they can help during heavy workouts and weight training. i always mix casein and whey protein powders. ::’*,

    Our own blog
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/

Leave a Reply

