Motivation Monday

Posted: June 11, 2012 in Articles, Music, Quotes, S&S Tips&Tricks

Yeah…. And that’s why I don’t weigh myself often….

I feel like I’ve been doing and saying this a lot lately, but I’m not about to lie…. This past weekend was full of food. Lots and lots of food. We celebrated my mom’s birthday, gathered with all of my cousins, celebrated my grandma’s birthday, and had a family reunion—all in three days! There was tons of alcohol and candy and food I don’t often eat (chips, cheese dip, blueberry coffee cake, cupcakes, M&Ms, pulled pork….). I gorged. And I felt sick. And I still kind of do. Thanks to my lack of drinking in general and my usually-healthy diet, I feel bloated, sick, and in all honesty, I’ve been having a few “fat days.” Ladies, I know you know what I’m talking about. It sucks.

So instead of buying that “Love It” size of Cold Stone, I’m talking myself into eating healthier during the majority of the day. I’m also going to put in a little more cardio time, work out a little longer, and lift a little harder. No, I’m not going to go crazy, but I am going to turn things up a notch—and drink a little more water.

What’s keeping me going?

Foods:
-Natural peanut butter. I get my protein fix without having to eat a lot of meat.
-Hummus. It’s another great protein source and tastes great with carrots, celery, and a few pita chips.
-A goober-ton of veggies. I have avocados, mushrooms, tomatoes, celery, carrots, cucumbers, peppers, romaine, broccoli, and cauliflower. It is salad week!
-Raw nuts. The best snack while I’m sitting at a desk or just need a quick protein jolt before or after I teach or train. I’m rockin’ pistachios, almonds, walnuts, and sunflower seeds right now.
-Potatoes. Yeah, that’s right. Sweet and regular. One small sweet or regular potato diced with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper mixed with a bunch of veggies is a great dinner/recovery meal after a hard workout. Baked potato is great, too!

Music:
“Be My Lover” by La Bouche
“Drums of New York” by Darude
“Gettin’ Over You” by The Louder Forest

Articles:
When I really don’t want to move… 100 Reasons to Work Out Today.

Boosting your metabolism—can it happen? Yeah, kinda.

Quotes:
“A belief is not an idea held by the mind, it is an idea that holds the mind.” Elly Roselle

“Achievement is not always success, while reputed failure often is. It is honest endeavor, persistent effort to do the best possible under any and all circumstances.” –Orison Swett Marden

“Those who do not find time for exercise will have to find time for illness.” –Edward Stanley, Earl of Derby

Leave a Reply

