Motivation Monday

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Articles, Music, Quotes, S&S Workouts

I need to work on the “eat like a nutritionist” part, but I’m getting there!

This week is short and busy. I’m excited, yet nervous about its fast-and-furious moments followed by its awkwardly drawn-out and slow moments. I need to stay moving, yet focused, and sometimes it’s really hard to do that when you’re sore, tired, hungry, and have a million-and-one things on your brain.

Here’s what I’m reading, doing, listening to, and challenging myself with this week. I hope it helps you, too :).

Read to Learn
I need to watch how much and when I mindlessly eat. Rereading this article made me take a deep breath and assess my hunger level.

My belly is my problem area. That’s where I hold fat and it stinks…. Especially since it’s summer and I’m about to wear a cute dress this weekend that shows any kind of pooch. So which form of exercise do I need to amp up—cardio or weights? This article reminded me that certain times call for certain forms of amped-up exercise.

Words that Work
“Having the right to happiness means having the right to earn it, not having it given to you without effort and action on your part.” –Jillian Michaels

“Merely possessing strengths does not make me strong nor does having weaknesses inherently make me weak. I’m as strong or as weak as I practice to be.” –Charlotte Anderson, The Great Fitness Experiment

“Only those who risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.” -T.S. Eliot

Bustin’ a Move
“Ecuador” by Sash!
“Pause” by Pitbull
“Come on Feel the Noise” by Quiet Riot

You Can Do This—Kelsey’s Workout Challenge of the Week
*Repeat this 1-5 times for either a quick workout or a hardcore one!

  1. 50 high knees (each knee is 1 rep)
  2. 50 squats with bicep curls (wide-leg stance; curl the weights up when you squat down)
  3. 10 pushups
  4. 30 alternating front lunges with shoulder presses (press the weights up as you lunge forward)
  5. 50 jumping jacks with alternating front jabs (you can hold light weights to make it harder)
  6. 10 pushups
  7. 30-second forearm plank
  8. 10 supermans (hold up for 1-3 sec. each rep)
  9. 40 bicycle crunches (each elbow-to-knee is 1 rep)
  10. 10 burpees (without the pushup)
Leave a Reply

