Motivation Monday

Posted: May 21, 2012 in Articles, Facts, Music, Quotes, S&S Tips&Tricks, S&S Workouts

One of the awesome designs on the back of my t-shirts :)

It was an exciting weekend for me—I gained a few new clients, I ordered new business cards with my new sweat drop logo (thanks, Dougie!), and I got my t-shirts! (Again, thanks, Dougie for the great, fun designs!) It’s going to be a busy week here, but honestly, it’s going to be awesome. Why? Because I’m telling myself now that I can do it, will do it, and will work hard in everything I do, so I can enjoy certain things, like my mom’s 60th birthday on Wednesday and a weekend with the fam, which easily means ice cream, the beach, and s’mores.

So do it. Whatever you do, just do it. Work hard and get it done. Here are some things that will hopefully help.

Do the Running Man
(Yes, I’m seriously doing the running man as I listen to this first song.)
“Brass Monkey” by Beastie Boys
“We Didn’t Start the Fire” by Billy Joel
“Burning” by Darude (TECHNO! YESSSSS!)

Two Mantras I’m Repeating to Myself This Week
You can’t out-exercise a bad diet.

You only get out what you put in.

Vegan? Plyos? Why? This interview with former pro soccer player-turned personal trainer (WHOOP!) Nicky Holender is good stuff. It’s why he eats vegan and why he loves burpees. A man after my own heart when it comes to plyos.

Monday Tidbits
*Courtesy of Fitness magazine, April 2012

Women who drank more than three cups of coffee a day had a 20% lower risk of developing basal-cell carcinomas than those who had less than a cup a month, according to a Harvard Medical School research.

Optimism is something you can strengthen like a muscle. Success is in your power; all it takes is disciplined steps toward your goal.

To drop pounds, skip the strict eating plan. Women who cut back on carbs twice a week and ate normally the other five days lost nearly twice as much weight after four months as those who followed a 1500-calorie diet daily. Eat as much protein as you want because you’re less likely to overeat things like chicken, which in turn, makes you consume fewer calories throughout the day. So when you need a pick-me-up during the day, reach for something with protein! Nuts or hard-boiled eggs are great choices.

Eating a baked or broiled fish at least once a week can strengthen your brain cells. Fish = better focus and memory!

Munching between breakfast and lunch could slow down your weight loss goals. Why? Often you snack out of boredom in the morning as opposed to hunger. Try drinking some water, tea, or coffee instead.

Curb your sweet tooth with a quick walk or jog or stair climb! When office workers rocked the treadmill for 15 minutes before they hit their desks, they ate about 50% less chocolate than those who were inactive.

What I’m eating this week:

  • Raw almonds
  • Apples
  • Berries—blackberries, strawberries, and raspberries
  • Chunky natural peanut butter on celery with raisins and craisins
  • Water with mix-ins—pink lemonade, raspberry lemonade, etc.
  • Big salads with a ton of fresh veggies and shrimp

Kelsey’s Upper Body Reps Challenge
*Pair it with my Lower Body Reps Challenge for a great total-body, equipment-free workout under 20 minutes!

Leave a Reply

