Foodalicious Friday

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Recipes, S&S Tips&Tricks

Trust me, I have to remind myself of this, too.

TGIF! How was your week in the health and fitness senses? Do you drive by the fast foods places even though French fries sounded good? Did you each at least three servings of fruits and veggies every day? What about water? Have you been guzzling that over pop? And what about fiber and protein… Have you been getting enough to keep your body full and passing… um… everything through?

Tis the time of year when you start to get bored with what you’re eating and wondering what you should be eating to get ready to start wearing less clothes as we head toward beach season. Well here’s what I’m eating and I promise these things won’t leave you hungry and cranky!

PB&Banana
I rock this on organic rice cakes, whole grain bread, or whole grain English muffins. I even throw a little organic honey on there, too. Nom nom. My favorite breakfast ever. And, you can rock this on the go.

Homemade Trail Mix. 
Mix a handful of your favorite cereal (I love Quaker Oatmeal Squares or Multi-Grain Cheerios) with a handful of dried fruit, a handful of nuts (I love unsalted almonds or pecans or pistachios), and if you have a sweet tooth, throw in a small handful of mini dark chocolate chips. Perfect for a quick snack or something to pick at.

Carrots, Celery, Pepper Sticks and Hummus
I clean and cut a bunch on Sundays and put a small Ziploc back together of each and put a big tablespoon of hummus into a little container. Dip and enjoy!

Banana and Apple and Peanut Butter
I like to eat, eat, eat, apples and bananas! It’s true, I do. And I love peanut butter. So, I put a big scoop (tablespoon-ish) of PB in a container and cut up the apple and dip that and spread lil bits of PB on the banana. Another nom-nom-a-licious treat.

Premier Protein Shake
I’m not a huge fan of protein or diet shakes, but DANG! this one is awesome. So tasty and with 30g of protein… Wow… Pairing this with a piece of fruit is a perfect afternoon snack.

What are some of your favorite healthy snacks? 

Leave a Reply

