Online Workout Review: BodyRock.TV – Super Hot Booty Workout – Bonus Abs, Back, & Chest Sculpt Cool Down

Posted: March 14, 2012 in Online WO Reviews

 Yep. This is the image that accompanies the workout. *sigh* I don't know what to say -- the workout is good and Lisa Marie has worked hard for her body so... yeah...

My boyfriend’s sister, Alli, and I did this workout together and let me tell you straight—we were sweating. And breathing heavy. And my body ached a bit.

Equipment-wise, this workout needs a little more. It calls for a jump rope, a pull-up bar, a higher surface to place your feet (steps, couch, chair, etc.), dumbbells, a sandbag/one heavier weight, a dip station. Even though we were at the gym doing this workout, we made modifications. The jump ropes weren’t working well (blame it on user malfunction, haha), so we just did high knees and tried to slap our hands. We didn’t have a pull-up bar or dip station, so we used two Spin bikes and did reverse push-/pull-ups with different hand grips for the pull-ups and for the V ab lift. We didn’t have sandbags either, so we rocked medicine balls, which worked just fine. For the elevated push-ups, we put together a step (the ones used for exercise classes) and used that. The rest was pretty straight-forward… and tough.

BodyRock.TV – Super Hot Booty Workout – Bonus Abs, Back, & Chest Sculpt Cool Down

How long did it take? Including set-up, clean-up, and running through the moves quickly, it probably took around 20 minutes total.
Was it tough?
Yes. Holy yes.
Did I feel like I got a good workout in?
Yes. Whoa, yes.
Why I liked it:
I always love cardio mixed with body weight moves, and man, you get the best of both worlds here. The beginning plyos are tough by the last few rounds and the 20 high-knee skips between the two sets are seriously brutal. Throw in some great ab work, pull-ups, and push-ups and whoa baby, we were dripping and huffing and puffing.
Do I recommend it?
Totally. But I’m not going to lie. This isn’t for a beginning. I recommend this workout for someone who has been working out for a bit and is more along the lines of an intermediate/advanced exerciser. That’s mostly because the plyos are really jumpy and a little tougher on the knees. And push-ups and pull-ups are tough no matter who you are—body weight moves always are. But hey, try it now, wherever you are fitness-wise, and make it your goal to be able to do it better, smoother, and faster next time.

Alli’s Take
Was it tough?
The workout was challenging, but definitely in a good way! The instructor(s) gives you multiple ways to do each move (beginner, intermediate, and advanced), which I like because just about anyone can join in on the fun!
Did you feel like you got a good workout in? I could feel the burn in my legs and arms by the end. I like to push myself a little harder, though, so I wish they made the workouts longer.
Why you liked it: I liked the workout because if I don’t have a good hour or so to really workout, this will allow me to at least do something quickly—and definitely burn some calories!
Do you recommend it?: DO IT! If you want to challenge yourself and your body, I would highly recommend joining Lisa Marie and the others in one of their crazy workouts! You will feel accomplished after you’ve completed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

