Online Workout Review: BodyRockTV – Glory to the Booty 600-Rep Challenge

Posted: March 6, 2012 in Online WO Reviews

I discovered BodyRockTV about two years ago when I was in physical rehab for my torn ACL. My PT and I were talking about crazy workouts one day and he brought up Zuzana from BodyRock, claiming that her workouts were tough and she was crazy-ripped. A crazy-ripped chica who makes up her own tough workouts? I was in. Sure enough, BodyRock has become a little bit of a cult ever since, but honestly, the workouts are great and require only a little time and few pieces of equipment.

Oh, and did I mention they are free, there are new ones basically every day, you can stay connected with the crew via Facebook and their BodyRock page, AND there is nutrition advice/tips/recipes/help!? Yeah, it’s an entire workout system.

So, I am going to start reviewing some of them for you. The cool thing about these workouts is that you can do them at home and it doesn’t make your skill/coordination/fitness level. All right, here we go!

BodyRockTV – Glory to the Booty 600-Rep Challenge

In this workout you literally complete 600 reps as fast as you can. You don’t need more than a jump rope and weight/medicine ball/sandbag, but honestly, you don’t even need that, especially if you’re more on the beginning side of working out. (I used 3-lb. weights to simulate a jump rope and then a 4-lb. medicine ball.)

The workout is all spelled out in the link above and consists of high-knee skips/jump ropes, backward lunges and front kick/leg swings, squats, and some ab crunches. Yeah, that’s it. Pretty simple.

How long did it take me? No more than 10 minutes. Yeah, seriously.
Was it tough? Definitely. I wasn’t pouring sweat, but my legs were burning and my heart rate was up.
Did I feel like I got a good workout? Yeah… Pretty much. I mean, it wasn’t the hardest thing ever, but it was definitely a different, tough, fun workout.
Why I liked it:
It was fast, easy, required little equipment, no timing-ness required, and I could do it without being completed depleted. But don’t get me wrong, I feel it 🙂
Do I recommend it? Yes. Yes. Oh and hey, yes. Plus it’s free and you can do it at home!

Comments
  1. Michelle La Maire says:

    Oohh! I’m going to try this. Thanks, Kels!

  2. The K Spot says:

    Did you stick with this program and if so, how did it go? Did you tone up, slim down, lose weight? Very interested in hearing how it worked for you. Thanks! ~KLC

    • Hey KLC! Thanks for the comment 🙂 I don’t do a BodyRock workout every day, but I do at least one a week. And when I ramped that number up, I did notice that I lost a little weight, but mostly, my endurance skyrocketed! It’s a great way to get your workout in, in only 10-15 minutes at a time!

Leave a Reply

