Motivation Monday

Posted: February 20, 2012 in Music, Quotes, S&S Tips&Tricks, S&S Workouts

Sure, it’s not simple to get a 6-pack like hers, but remember, your health and fitness level isn’t measured solely on looks!

I learned a few key things this weekend: breakfast always sounds and tastes amazing these days (I’m thinking because it usually involves a starchy carb, peanut butter, and a banana); I need to start sleeping or napping more because I’m not looking as alive as I should/could be; I’m really obsessed with Cadbury dark chocolate eggs and should not allow myself or my boyfriend to buy them; my favorite “me” time workout includes running, then boxing/kickboxing intervals on the heavy bag, then core work on the BOSU, and ending with a walk on an incline; and putting a drop of peppermint extract into my water and tea is the best idea ever.

What did you learn about yourself this weekend?

Okay, now why did I bring this up? Because it helps you understand what you can, can’t, need, and don’t need to have and to handle. I need more sleep. I can’t handle having a bag of Cadbury dark chocolate eggs in my house. I need to have my Sunday “me” time workout. I can handle peanut butter and banana every day and it doesn’t get boring. I can handle the peppermint in my tea and water, and it’s great to settle my stomach, help me digest, and freshen my breath all at once!

Okay… so… what…? So knowing what you need, don’t need, can and can’t handle plays into what will motivate you throughout the week. I work hard during the early morning classes I teach because that peanut butter and banana English muffin tastes even better. I can’t handle all of this dark chocolate because even when I’m not hungry, I’ll eat it (like now… *pushing the bowl away*…). I need more sleep because I can’t handle all of the working out I’m doing on the amount of sleep I’m getting, which leads to acne, not-as-glowing of skin, more-than-usual hunger, grumpiness/rudeness, and frustration. I need to have my Sunday workout to look forward to because it is the only time I’m not performing for others during the week. I now need the peppermint extract because it motivates me to take my time to sip water and tea and enjoy the benefits, taste, aroma, and calmness it brings.

Okay… so… ? This leads to goals for the week. My goals for the week: Go to bed before 10:30pm every night this week. If I can get into bed by 10pm, that would be ideal. Work hard to make that breakfast taste like the best meal on the planet (though, to me, it truly is J). Refuse the chocolate aisle and don’t allow myself to buy any more or I’ll sit and eat it in a day or two. Unless, I’m working out, drink water and/or tea with peppermint in it. Do not allow myself to miss that Sunday workout and start putting together a playlist for it now, so I have extra motivation.

What are your goals for this week? Yes, just THIS week. Think short-term. What’s your trigger food? Can you cut it out for 7 days? 5? 3? 1? Can you commit to working out for 15 minutes every single day this week? What about doing 50 pushups every day? Or a one-minute plank? Do you need to make yourself sit and stretch for 5 minutes every day? Or drink a cup of tea at night to calm you down? What about just getting a bigger water bottle so you drink more water? Read a specific motivational phrase every day? (Tape it to your bathroom mirror!)

Whichever of your habits that you like right now, figure it out, write it down, and keep doing it. Whatever you’re not proud of—write it down and write down a few ways to resist or combat it and do at least one a day. You can do this!

Now. On to some of what’s keeping me going this week.

Shake It
“Glad You Came” by The Wanted
“Turn Up the Music” by Chris Brown
“Strobe” by deadmau5 (*This is calmer cycling climb or running song)

Word Love
“Life has no limitations, except the ones you make.” –Les Brown

“Always dream and shoot higher than you know you can do. Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.” –William Faulkner

“Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart … Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens.” –Carl Jung

“You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have.” -Maya Angelou

My Workout for You to Try
THE POWER 10
*No gym or equipment required!

10 pushups (preferably on your toes, but on your knees works too!)
9 forward lunges per leg
8 star jumps
7 tricep dips off a bench
6 goblet squats
5 tuck jumps
4 side planks
(2 on each arm, holding each for 10-30 sec.)
3 clockwise and 3 counterclockwise ab circles with your legs
(Lie on your back with your legs together and straight toward the ceiling. Draw 3 clockwise circles with your legs. Then 3 counterclockwise circles.)
2 wall sits
(hold each for 20-60 sec.)
1 forearm plank hold
(shoot for 20-60 sec.)

Leave a Reply

