Motivation Monday

Posted: January 30, 2012 in Articles, Facts, Music, Quotes, S&S Tips&Tricks, S&S Workouts

Stop being angry or frustrated with who you have been and start acting like who you want to be — TODAY!

It’s cold. It’s grey. It’s been snowing, then raining, then freezing over. It’s winter here in Michigan and though it’s not the most pleasant-looking or feeling outside, none of us can change it so we must learn to live with it. The most common thing I hear during this time of year is, “It’s so hard to motivate myself to work out.” I get it. I do. If working out and training wasn’t my job, I’d have to push myself to stay motivated to get to the gym every day. Actually, that’s a lie because I still have to do that even though it’s my job! So how do I do it? I have a few tricks.

One, if I have to get up early to teach (read 4:45am to teach at 5:30am) I sleep in my sports bra, tank top, hoodie, and socks. Then when my alarm goes off, I’m mostly dressed. Two, I play my favorite pumped-up, hardcore music when I drive to the gym to get myself awake and mentally preparing. When I rocked a desk job, I would listen to this music about 15 minutes before I got out of work to get myself pumped. And three, I read fitness magazines. Not only does it give me ideas, but I can do it while walking on the treadmill and seeing all of the awesome women who have accomplished great things and reading all of the fitness facts keeps me going and pushes me harder.

So here are a few quotes, songs, and articles keeping me going this week! Oh, and the one ab exercise I’m doing in all of my classes this week! I hope they help motivate you, too 🙂

Walk the Talk
“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” -Martin Luther King, Jr.

Eat more foods that grow on trees and plants, and eat less food that is manufactured in plants.

Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a beggar.


Hardcore Jams

“I’m Shipping Off to Boston” by Dropkick Murphys

“One (Always Hardcore)” by Scooter

“The Blood of Cuchulainn” The Boondock Saints theme song

“Bleed It Out” by Linkin Park

Eat Clean! Here’s Why
I’m not a fan of saying absolutely “NO!” to specific foods, but I definitely don’t eat certain ones because who knows what the heck is in them! When people ask me how or what I eat, I tell them this: I try to eat as many whole, fresh, natural, raw foods as possible. I’m not a vegetarian or vegan or any other kind of –arian or –gan, but I do monitor what I eat and strive for the freshest, realest foods I can. I’m not perfect—no one can be—but here’s a good article on how to start eating cleaner.

In relation to the topic of eating cleaner, here are some interesting facts about what eating processed and packaged foods does to your body’s fat-burning abilities.


Kelsey’s Ab Exercise of the Week

The stability ball ab roll-out. Feel the burn!

Leave a Reply

