The 12-Second Sequence (2008)

Posted: December 27, 2011 in DVD Reviews

You always hear about how working out slower—especially when it comes to weight lifting—is better and more effective. I would have to agree that moving slow as opposed to fast is the best way to work your muscles and gain strength and endurance over time, so of course I had to check out this workout DVD. I had never heard of the method before, but I jumped in either way.

The 12-Second Sequence (2008) 

A great workout with 12-second moves?

Where I Got This DVD: The library
Length: Approx. 50 min.
Workouts: Week 1 Workout #1 and Week 1 Workout #2
Instructor: Jorge Cruise
Team:  Heather

*Note: You will need two sets of weights for this workout (lighter and heavier – I had 3s and 5s), a chair, a broom or long light-weight object, and a stability ball.

*I watched a bit of the intro where Jorge explains the method and its benefits. He talks about exercising smarter, not longer or more, and how he promises results in two weeks. He claims that the 12-Second Sequence can increase your metabolism by 20% and goes into a little detail about how this happens through each workout.

Week 1 Workout #1

  • Approx. 20 min. long with three 6-min. circuits
  • Circuits = 4 reps, 10 sec. down and hold for 2 sec., then rise for 10 sec.
  • Each circuit had a move targeting legs, back, chest, and abs
  • Circuit 1: Squat, pull-over, incline chest press, curl-up crunch
  • Circuit 2: Plie squat with weights, bent-over row, knee push-up, inch worms on chair
  • Circuit 3: Lunge, back extension on ball, flies on ball, ab twists
  • This definitely wasn’t as easy as I thought it was going to be. I didn’t sweat, but I was certainly shaking during the final reps of a few of those moves.


Week 1 Workout #2

  • Approx. 20 min. long with three 6-min. circuits
  • Circuits = 4 reps, 10 sec. down and hold for 2 sec., then rise for 10 sec.
  • Each circuit had a move targeting shoulders, biceps, triceps, and abs
  • Circuit 1: Shoulder press, bicep curl, tricep dip, toe reach
  • Circuit 2: Lateral raise, bicep curl on ball, tricep extension on ball, crunch on ball
  • Circuit 3: Rear raise with butt on the ball (holy felt it here!), preacher curl on ball, tricep kickback, ab twist on floor
  • Once again, I really started to feel it as I got near the end of each set and near the end of the overall workout.

Overall:
Instructor: Jorge is a good teacher, although he repeated a few things too often. He talks a lot, which wasn’t horrible, it just got to be a lot. One thing I noticed about Heather was that she looked so mean and angry! She wasn’t smiling and she just looked pissed. It was an awkward mix of funny and annoying to watch.
Moves: Pretty good, standard moves, but the element of slowing them all down made them much tougher.
Best Workout: I can’t say I liked one workout better than the other since they targeted different muscles groups. Both were tough near the end and both were pretty simple.
Intensity Level: Beginner to Advanced
Buy It?: This was an interesting DVD. It was very plain—the backdrop was white, the music was low-key, Jorge was talkative but not really annoying, Heather was weird, and although I didn’t sweat, I was shaking as I completed some of the moves. This was a great DVD to borrow/rent because it reminded me that slowing down weight-lifting movements and focusing on proper form throughout is really important and you get an amazing workout by doing it. However, I don’t need a DVD to walk me through it every time I want to slow things down. I don’t think I’ll ever buy this DVD, but it’s a great mixer-upper to your workout plan.

Leave a Reply

