Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted: November 24, 2011 in S&S Tips&Tricks

Today should not be about food.

Happy Gobble-Gobble/Turkey Day/Thanksgiving! Today is about two things: thanks and giving.


What are you thankful for?


My thankful list:

  • I am thankful that I can be in Atlanta with my sister, her husband, my niece (on her first Thanksgiving!), and my parents;
  • I am thankful that I can walk, talk, eat, see, bend, squat, smile, dance, hear, and think clearly, easily, and well;
  • I am thankful that I don’t have to worry about food or money this holiday;
  • I am thankful that I have a family and an amazing group of friends who love and support me, not to mention make me laugh;
  • I am thankful that I know what I love to do–what I am being called by God to do–and that I get to do it: write and help people with their health and fitness goals;
  • I am thankful that I am happy and healthy.


What are you giving today?


My giving list:

  • My undivided attention to my family;
  • My love and time to my niece (being an active Auntie!);
  • My clean-up abilities (I may not be a cooker, but I can clean!);
  • My ears (I have two ears and only one mouth for a reason!);
  • My micawberism (eternal optimism);
  • My manners (pleases, thank-yous, hugs, and kisses).

My giving list may not be in-your-face and money-focused, but they are all tangible, real things I can do. It’s a time to spend with family, not my cell phone or computer (hence why I’m posting so early!). Today is a day to be with those I love, enjoying who they are and all of our memories together.

Happy Thanksgiving to you all. When it comes to health, nutrition, and fitness today, all I have to say is be good to yourselves.

Leave a Reply

