Foodalicious Friday

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Recipes

A colorful variety of foods sans crazy-long expiration dates (aka FRESH food) a happy shopping cart makes.

One of my friends requested a post about what I eat. Basically a look into my shopping cart. (Don’t sigh just yet, I’m going to share a recipe after I break out my shopping list.)

My biggest secret is this: I signed up for the preview of the weekly ads for the where store I do more of my grocery shopping (Meijer). Every Friday I get an email where I can preview the ad that’s usually in the Sunday paper for the coming week’s specials and sales. It’s awesome. I make my grocery list at my desk on Fridays and then whenever I had time (usually between Sunday and Tuesday), I’m all ready for a quick in-and-out trip to the store.

That’s my other big secret, by the way: I don’t go up and down every aisle; I stick to what I have on my list. The more I allow myself to browse, the more I spend on things I don’t need.

My shopping list (what it usually consists of):
-bananas
-apples
-any other fruit on sale (it was grapes a few weeks ago, then grapefruit, this next week is oranges!)
-romaine lettuce
-carrots
-celery
-any veggies on sale (avocados, green/red/orange/yellow peppers, zucchini, squash, mushrooms, etc.)
-sweet potatoes
-whole wheat bagel thins or English muffins (whichever ones are cheaper)
-organic or natural peanut butter – chunky and creamy (I look at the ingredients and make sure the only thing listed is peanuts)
-almonds, pistachios, pecans, and/or walnuts (whichever I’m running low on or is cheaper)
-a small container of skim milk

If on sale or if I really need/want it, I’ll also sometimes buy:
-shrimp
-tilapia
-salmon
-raisins and/or Crasins
-canned beans (black, pinto, great northern, chili, refried — though I usually go with black or refried (low-sodium))
-oatmeal
-cereal (Life, Cheerios, and Quaker Oatmeal Squares are my favs)
-Green Giant microwaveable veggies (they’re great for work!)
-Chobani yogurt
-eggs
-Dove dark chocolate squares

That’s about it. I eat a lot of veggies and fruit during the day. I often eat a bowl of cereal with milk and a banana or an English muffin with peanut butter and a banana for breakfast; mixed nuts, some veggies, and some fruit for lunch; and a sweet potato with veggies or a HUGE salad for dinner. My goal is to eat as many whole, fresh foods as possible.

Now… a healthy pumpkin bar recipe from Chalene Johnson:
Healthy Pumpkin Bars
Ingredients:
Wet:

  • 1 c egg whites
  • 1 ½ c sugar
  • 1 c applesauce
  • 2 c canned pumpkin

Dry:

  • 2 c all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp ground nutmeg

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease or use non-stick spray on 18×12 cookie sheet. Mix all of the wet ingredients and gently fold dry mixture into wet. Pour the mixture into the prepared pan and bake for approximately 25 minutes or until a knife comes out clean. Allow to cool, and then slice into 24 bars.

*Optional: Before serving sprinkle lightly with powdered sugar.

Serving size: 1 bar Number of Servings: 24 Nutrition information per bar: Calories 102; Fat: 0.1g; Carbohydrate: 23g; Protein: 2.4g

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

