Denise Austin – Burn Fat Fast Cardio Blast (2007)

Posted: November 8, 2011 in DVD Reviews

It is true that Denise Austin’s voice has bothered me since the first workout of hers I’ve tried, but girlfriend’s got a ton of DVDs on the market, has worked hard to be where she is, and has a real woman’s body (curves, not bones), so I have to continue to give her a chance.

Denise Austin – Burn Fat Fast Cardio Blast (2007)

Cardio DVDs usually scare me because the moves usually stick... And I still stand by that fear.

Where I Got This DVD: The library
Length: Approx. 50 min.
Instructor: Denise Austin
Team: Four other women who are not introduced

 

Warm-Up

  • Good moves that were a little different and get your body moving at a good pace.
  • BOOOOOO static stretching

 

Kickboxing

  • Decent kicking combos, but the sets were really short and didn’t have many reps in them
  • Denise isn’t very good at cuing during this workout, which sucks because the sets are short, so when you jump in, you’re almost done with that set I wore 2lb. hand-weights, which made this a little more challenging
  • Barely any punching, just the basics: jab, hook, upper cut; no combos 😦
  • Annoyances I had with this segment: the women had their hair down—no sensible athletic professional wears their hair down during a workout; Denise talked way too much, and it wasn’t form stuff; the music wasn’t good, it was boring

 

Athletic Interval

  • Included light low-intensity jumps, lunges, and a bunch of meh moves like tire runs and lunge-punch things
  • I thought it was only okay because I wore the hand-weights again, didn’t take breaks when she did, and jumped more and higher

 

Retro Aerobics

  • Silly older aerobic moves that I couldn’t get into
  • I’m sorry, I just don’t find skipping forward and “ponying” much fun nor much of a workout
  • Included some dance-y footwork with arm movements

 

Cardio Dance

  • V-steps, hip shaking, light jump squats with punching arms, salsa moves—all just meh
  • Lots of repeated combos
  • Wasn’t really for me

 

Overall:
Instructor: Denise. Despite her hardworking nature and feminine figure, I’m not a fan of her teaching abilities. Her voice is annoying, she doesn’t cue well, and she needs to revamp her arsenal of moves.
Moves: All pretty blah and basic
Best Workout: Kickboxing
Worst: Retro Aerobics
Intensity Level: Beginner
Buy It?: I just have to say this—the women in the video did not get the nice, toned bodies they have from doing this workout and I’m really not sure how any of those workouts are supposed to blast fat fast. This is a very basic cardio DVD. If you are a beginner and want to try a range of cardio workouts, then you may want to try this. But if you’ve been working out for a while, even if it is lower intensity, don’t waste your time with this DVD. I’m sorry for the bluntness, but I barely felt like I worked out.

Leave a Reply

