Foodalicious Friday

Posted: November 4, 2011 in Recipes

 

Yes, you can and should enjoy this amazing-looking sundae for breakfast!

 

Breakfast.

You hear that it’s the most important meal of the day. Did you know that it’s actually a fact that those who eat a hearty breakfast actually eat less over the course of the day? I believe this, and it actually makes sense.

Let me back up, though. I used to hate breakfast. I hated cereal, toast, fruit, anything except donuts or Toaster Strudles as a kid. As I grew up and my eating disorder kicked in, I didn’t eat breakfast because I tried to hard to cut back on food and figured that the longer it took me to eat my first meal, the more weight I’d lose. (I was wrong, just so you know.) Now, I love breakfast. I long for breakfast. I cannot wait to eat breakfast every day and I wish it lasted for an hour!

Why? Because breakfast is my biggest meal of the day. I eat, what I consider to be, quite a lot. I always have a cup/mug/thermos/bucket of coffee (I ❤ coffee), a big glass of water, fruit (1 or 2 pieces), and some sort of carb/protein/fat mix. I particularly love whole wheat English muffins with organic peanut butter and a banana, or a few pieces of fruit (a banana and some berries, usually) and a bag of awesomeness — mixed nuts, my favorite cereal (right now it’s Quaker Oatmeal Squares), and dried fruit. It’s no more than 1 c. total, but it is amazing. I feel full and great for the rest of the morning. And… I’ve noticed that when I eat a nice big breakfast, I don’t eat as much at dinner and I don’t get the kinds of post-dinner cravings that I used to. Win!

So here are some go-to breakfast ideas beyond your standard peanut butter toast or bowl of cereal. (Recipe ideas from Health magazine, Sept. 2011)

Blueberry Cooler & Cranberry Muffin
Puree 1 c. each of frozen blueberries and 1% (or skim!) milk, 1/3 c. diced fresh pineapple, 1 ½ Tbsp. honey, and 1/8 tsp. vanilla extract until creamy. Pair it with 1 small (2-oz.) cranberry muffin, like a CranBran VitaTop.

Heat ‘N’ Eat
Prepare 1 (300- to 320-calorie) organic or “all natural” frozen entrée. Choose one without the word “artificial” in the ingredient list, such as Cedarlane Uncured Turkey Bacon, Vegetable & Cheese Egg White Omelet, or Helen’s Kitchen Breakfast Burrito. Enjoy it with 1 small banana and a cup of tea with a lemon wedge.

Farmers’ Market Egg Sandwich
Make 1 egg, omelet-style, in 1 tsp. olive oil with 2 minced sun-dried tomato halves. Sprinkle on a little sea salt and black pepper to taste, and place it between 2 slices of whole-grain toast. Serive with 1 ½ oz. of goat cheese, 1 c. of a leafy green, 4 slices of zucchini, and a squirt of fresh lemon juice.

Greek Yogurt Sundae
In a bowl or mug, layer 1 c. plain fat-free Greek yogurt with ½ c. granola and 1 c. of sliced fruit. I love strawberries, blueberries, or blackberries, but kiwi or melon works, too! Add a dash of nutmeg for decadence.

 

Now, a quick side-story about a food that’s more than just that.
Brown sugar = awesomer than we all thought
Why? (Info from Health magazine, Sept. 2011)

  • Gives your face a nice glow! The grains help remove dead skin cells, which can make you look younger. Pulse ½ c. dark brown sugar in a coffee grinder to make it less abrasive and add 3 Tbsp. of olive oil for extra moisture. Apply the paste to your face, scrubbing in circular motion for 1-2 min. and then wash off with warm water. A cheap face wash—score!
  • Is a first aid rescuer. Brown sugar acts as an anti-inflammatory and has anti-microbial properties that can help prevent infection. Clean a wound with soap and water first, then pack a little brown sugar onto the area and cover it with a band-aid for a few hours. Nifty trick, eh?
  • Catches nasty little pests. Finally, you can catch those annoying flies that invade your house. Spread some petroleum jelly on a piece of cardboard and sprinkle brown sugar on top. The flies love the sugar, but get stuck to the jelly. Shoo fly!
  • Tames your sweet tooth! Nibble on a little brown sugar when cravings hit. It’s richer in flavor than white sugar so you end up snacking on less. Another good idea is to sprinkle it on a piece of fruit for an afternoon snack. Yum 🙂

 

What’s your favorite go-to/makes-you-feel-awesome breakfast?

Leave a Reply

