Motivation Monday – Halloween Style

Posted: October 31, 2011 in Music, Recipes

These are my Halloween downfalls... I would be very content with a Halloween bag full of these.

I had grand plans of posting some great new recipes on Friday only to wake up with the flu. I was literally in bed all day Friday and for the majority of Saturday and Sunday, too. Today’s been a challenge and I’m not going to lie — I may be going home from work soon :/

So instead of a weekend of Halloween candy, a night of seeing my friend’s super-good band, and drinking yummy beer while catching up with my sister, I munched on oyster crackers and watched “The Halloween That Almost Wasn’t.” Which, don’t get me wrong, that’s my favorite Halloween movie so I was okay with it, but still. I’m a Halloween fan. I love the decorations and playing dress-up; I like candy and Halloween-inspired treats; I was going to rock a fun theme at the gym tonight, too.

However, as you can see, some of my favorite parts of Halloween deal with food… and that’s not okay because it’s just one more holiday that ALWAYS center around food. That’s why you need to show some restraint… which you can do in a few ways…

Now, I’m not saying you should dress all um, well, inappropriate in a skimpy Halloween costume, but there’s nothing wrong with wearing a more form-fitting Halloween costume to keep yourself honest during your evening antics. I, for one, am way more conscious about how many beers I consume and how many Almond Joys I joyfully stuff into my mouth when my black ninja suit is tight as opposed to flowy, know what I’m sayin’? (And yes, yes I am dressed as a ninja at work right now.)

But, it is Halloween and we should all be celebrating because come on, it’s fun! Adults in awesome costumes drinking beer? Win.

Do yourself a favor, though, think about a few things before you indulge: You’ve been working hard lately, do you really want to waste everything on a few too many pieces of candy that will only make you feel sick later? And is that extra beer really worth it if it’s going to lead to an order of pizza and breadsticks later? What are your long-term goals and how do your party plans fit into this?

Now that you’re thinking along the lines of making smarter choices, opt for light beers or a good dark stout that you sip on for a while. If you rock liquor, keep it skinny with soda water or tonic.

For the munchies. You can get creative and cut the calories while still keeping the yummy factor with these ideas:
Candied Spiced Pumpkin Seeds
Halloween Orange Muffins
Healthy Caramel Apples
Pumpkin Pie Cupcakes
Banana Ghost Pops
Healthy Cookie Dough Balls

Or, you can rock one of these healthier Halloween treat choices: dark chocolate, gummy bears, gum, popcorn, or chocolate covered strawberries.

Still stuck on the traditional Halloween candy? Here’s what 100 calories looks like in your favorite Halloween candies.

 
Now, for the real question — what are you going to be for Halloween and what are you bringing for your treat?

Leave a Reply

