Foodalicious Friday

Posted: October 21, 2011 in Recipes

I have hungry stomach penguins.

I don’t know about you, there’s something about fire drills at work (AKA emergencies, big problems, etc.) and cold, dark weather that cues my stomach to scream “Feed me yummy, filling food!”

I know this is normal, though. BUT! Whereas my body is telling me to go out and buy some greasy food, my mind is thinking logically—it doesn’t have to cost you a ton of money or calories to eat something warm and amazingly tasty. Take it from me, someone who has little time to prepare and cook food let alone the budget to go out for chips & salsa, burritos, and margaritas every other night.

I have a major thing for apples (as you’ve probably guessed already…), so one of my favorite Fall foods is none other than… APPLESAUCE!

Applesauce:
-Clean, peel, and cut several apples (you choose the number—it depends how much apple sauce you want!) into a big, glass, microwaveable bowl.
-Add a tablespoon of water to the bowl.
-Sprinkle cinnamon over the apples. A few teaspoons will do.
(-My Mom also adds a little sugar with the cinnamon, but you really don’t need it!)

Eat warm with a spoon while wrapped in a blanket!

 

I also love Mexican food. It’s my favorite genre/nationality/kind of food. But it’s also one of the unhealthiest. Thus, I’ve created my own quick and easy twist on my favorite Mexican food—the burrito.

Bean Burritos:
Ingredients:
-One whole wheat soft wrap (I find ones under 100 calories each)
-Beans (You can choose one of a few ways to go with beans: refried beans (go for low-fat or low-sodium) or any kind of organic can of beans (black, pinto, great northern, etc.). I personally like black beans or refried beans.)
-Lettuce or spinach
-VEGGIES! (Mushrooms, onions, avocados, olives, tomatoes, broccoli, asparagus, zucchini, etc.)

If you go with refried beans, scoop them from the can into a microwaveable bowl and nuke until warm. If you go with whole beans, drain and rinse them before putting them into a pan on the stove. I always add a little hot spice to them for an extra kick. Cut the veggies into small pieces and throw them in a fry pan on the stove on low heat. Add spices if you wish, but try not to add olive oil, if possible. If you use any OO, make sure it’s just a little to coat the pan. Microwave the wrap for 25-30 seconds as the veggies cook to tenderness. When the veggies are cooked, the beans are warm, and the wrap is ready, spread the beans and lettuce down the middle of the wrap and top with veggies.

I never add anything else, but if you really feel the need to add salsa, sour cream, or cheese, make sure it’s just a little. Close the wrap and enjoy! Homemade and WAY fewer calories.

 

When your hungry stomach penguins start talking, what healthy, cold-weather foods do you feed them?

Leave a Reply

