Turbo Jam – 20-Minute Workout

Posted: October 20, 2011 in DVD Reviews

Continuing my journey through Chalene Johnson’s Turbo Kick series, I tried the 20-Minute Workout and much to my surprise, it was a good one.

Turbo Jam – 20-Minute Workout

I wonder how long she had to hold that position for to get the picture just right...

Where I Got This DVD: The library
Length: Approx. 25 minutes
Instructor: Chalene Johnson
Team: Her usual group for this series

The Workout:

  • Starts with a 3½-minutewarm-up that’s great because it jumps right into things
  • Moves include: punching combos, kicks, knees, jump rope
  • The TURBO! section is barely a minute and not nearly as hardcore as I was anticipating—it included: football feet, knee-ins, low blocks, and jump rope
  • Short break after the TURBO!
  • The combos were all good, but the sets of each weren’t very long—I wish she would have done more of each
  • The cool down was about 2 minutes long and included stretches

Overall:
Instructor: Chalene has got major energy. It’s infectious and fun. Not to mention she’s a good instructor.
Moves: She incorporates her 11 signature moves, which are all pretty good.
Intensity Level: Beginner to Intermediate
Buy It?: Hm. This is a tough call because I really did like the workout, but I felt like Chalene tried to do too much in such a short time. I never felt like I got a good rhythm going because she was constantly switching things up. However, I do think it’s a good, short cardio workout. It comes down to this: I’m a big proponent of try it before you buy it, so I vote you check this out from library or borrow it from a friend before you lay down the green.

Leave a Reply

