Gaiam Power Yoga Flexibility with Rodney Yee (2004)

Posted: July 26, 2011 in DVD Reviews

I feel like not only has my yogalates class been lacking a bit, but my legs are tighter than ever with all of the classes I’m teaching and the running I’m doing. Enter yoga DVD. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Rodney Yee—let’s face it, he’s the face of the majority of the Gaiam DVDs. So I jumped it with this one. Good choice on my part, if I do say so myself.

Gaiam Power Yoga Flexibility with Rodney Yee (2004)

Rodney Lee is the master of yoga, I must admit.

Where I Got This DVD: The library
Length: Approx. 30 min. (workout is 25 min.)
Instructor: Rodney Yee

Breakdown:

  • He instructed quickly and transitioned very fast between poses.
  • All of the poses began with basic sun salutations and added on from there.
  • Ended with stagnant stretching.
  • It was a very relaxing, more zen kind of yoga than I’ve done before.
  • Rodney talks a lot, guiding you through poses, and it is almost too much.

Overall:
Instructor: Rodney, like I said, talked a little too much, but his voice is very soothing and he instructs a lot. I wouldn’t say he was bad, but he talked more about relaxation, feeling the moves throughout your body, and connecting with your body more than I’m used to. He was a different instructor. Overall, good.
Moves: Sun salutations, upward dog, downward dog, triangle pose, low lunge, and Warrior I were some of them.
Intensity Level: Beginner or Intermediate
Buy It?: If you need a good, standard yoga workout that’s not too long, doesn’t get crazy with the poses, stretches you out and calms you down, this is a great DVD. I’m considering buying it, in fact. I would recommend this for someone who wants/needs a good yoga workout once or twice a week and doesn’t want the bells and whistles of the practice.

Leave a Reply

