Foodalicious Friday!

Posted: July 22, 2011 in Articles, Recipes

WATERMELON IS AMAZING IN SO MANY WAYS!

It’s hot. It’s humid. It’s gross outside. Let’s be honest, any kind of food or drink that’s cold sounds amazing. I’ve been munching on a ton of fruit lately, especially watermelon when I can. It’s cold, crunchy, and pure watery goodness.

If you’re like me, (whether or not we like to admit it) food is on the brain during beach season. Am I eating healthy enough? What am I going to look like in a swim suit? It may sound sad, but we’ve all been there. But here’s the deal—we should all strive to eat as many whole, unprocessed foods as possible every day. That’s the goal, no matter which season it is. Summer does spur more body-consciousness, though, and I hear ya.

That’s why I found a lot of great articles and lists from Fitness magazine and Dietriffic (both of which I go to for tips and tricks on a regular basis!) about healthy snack foods and breakfast ideas (because we all know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day!).

The Best Crunchy Snacks

The Best Sweet Snacks

The Best Savory Snacks

The Best Frozen Desserts

5 Essentials for Healthy Snacking

How to Snack Smarter

Healthy, Homemade Snacks Under 100 Calories

25 Easy Breakfast Ideas for the Bleary-Eyed!

8 Swift and Healthy Breakfast Ideas  

And… Uh Oh… The Top 5 Unhealthy Diet Foods

 

My favorites this time of year? Well, I’m trying really hard to be smarter about snacking and about what I eat at meals since I’ve been teaching a lot of classes and am training for a 10K. I don’t want to be bogged down by candy (though I love it!), pizza (though it’s great after drinking some beer!), and ice cream (though it’s awesome once or twice a week while walking on the pier!). So I’ve been into fruit (lots and lots of blueberries from the Farmer’s Market), Anytime Fitness snack bars (I like the Cinnamon Oatmeal Square ones the best!), Crystal Light On-the-Go packets for my water, and sugar-free Fudgsicles. Delicious and pretty darn nutritious!

 

What do you eat to stay cool and healthy during the summer?

Leave a Reply

