Motivation Monday

Posted: July 18, 2011 in Articles, Music

Getting fit doesn't require anything this intimidating, I promise!

It was a warm weekend here in GH with lots of things going on. How many people saw Harry Potter!? I DID! It was great. I laughed and cried and felt a strong pull to read all 7 books again, right that minute. I also took a decent run along the boardwalk (holy warm out at 8:30am) and tried a new dance DVD last night (stay tuned for that review later this week!).

It’s Monday and it’s hot and it’s the middle of summer. Things are going fast, but I feel like I personally move slower. Do you ever feel like that, too? Well, it’s time for some motivation then. Back to my old format! Check these things out 🙂

You don’t need to go to the gym multiple times a day to burn calories and stay fit and healthy! Yes, you should be getting steady, sweat-inducing exercise for at least 30-minutes four or five days a week, but it’s the little, non-exercise things that really start to add up.

Meal time means constantly being aware of portion control. It’s summer and we all love our burgers on the grill and ice cream. That stuff isn’t bad… just not good in large quantities! A way to keep things under control while not looking crazy? Portion control plates! They are proven to work and there are plenty to choose from ranging from practical and straight-forward to stylish and cute.

Songs:
Another Night by Real McCoy
Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! by ABBA

Quotes:
“It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.” –Anonymous
“An apple a day is not enough.” –Michael Arnstein
“Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.” -William Faulkner
*To all of my friends who keep saying, I’m just getting old—this one’s for you! “You can’t help getting older but you don’t have to get old.” – George Burns

Motivational Women:
Shelley dropped her excuses and got to work… and now she looks, feels, and acts like a whole new person.

Being a soccer player and having just watched the Women’s World Cup… and having a girl crush on this former star… I find it only fair to post this interview with Julie Foudy. Gotta love a female athlete who can juggle it all and still stays with things!

This woman inspires me and I don’t even know her! However, I already feel connected to her because of this: “Terri soon learned that she gained inspiration from her clients as much as she inspired them. Her passion for training others overflows and it reciprocates.” I may not have been teaching for very long but I can already feel this. My clients/students/class-takers inspire me to be the best, healthiest, fittest me simply because by being that way, I can help inspire them!

 

What keeps you motivated when you’re craving candy and ice cream and doing nothing but watching movies and sitting in the shade?

Leave a Reply

