Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown (2010)

Posted: June 28, 2011 in DVD Reviews

I’ve been teaching yoga and pilates once a week and was starting to run out of things to do… not to mention my yoga skills and knowledge are basic, at best, and I’ve once again slipped into the bad habit of not stretching after I work out. The fix? A yoga DVD. It’d been a while since I did a Jillian DVD and I had heard some talk about this DVD being a toughie, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown (2010)

Jillian and Yoga... The two don't seem to go together to me, but all right then.

Where I Got This DVD: Borrowed it from a friend – thanks Carissa!
Length: Approx. 66 min.
Workouts: Level 1 and Level 2
Instructor: Jillian Michaels
Team: Maddie (modifier) and Vishera (sp?) (advanced)

 

Level 1:

  • Jillian talks a lot and from the beginning you can tell that this is not your quiet, calm yoga workout
  • The music isn’t relaxing or soothing either – it’s more along the lines of what Jillian uses in her other workout DVDs
  • The poses all include movement making everything more cardio-like because it’s essentially bodyweight moves
  • You do each pose w/ some kind of movement and then hold at the end for 15 sec.
  • Moves: chaturanga, down dog where you bring a knee in and then push it back out and up, sun salutations, Warrior II, camel pose, plank to side plank (T plank), crescent pose to Warrior III, locust
  • Cool down: stretching (includes pigeon pose)

 

Level 2

  • Start quickly with sun salutations
  • Everything in this segment is a little faster and a little harder
  • Again, lots of Jillian talking – it’s not relaxing
  • You rep our each pose (moving pose) and then hold for 15 sec.
  • Moves: Warrior II with arms straight toward ceiling and floor, revolving triangle, half moon, chair pose, tree pose with leg extensions – crazy hard (kinda like this…), crescent pose with folded hand twists, goddess (basically a deep squat with your hearts together by your heart), crow pose – also called crane pose (wow… I couldn’t do this and laughed as I fell attempting it. I believe my dad asked, “Would you like a spotter?”), boat pose, hip raises with 1 arm back on the ground and the other arm reaching down and up (this, only crazier), leg lowers (you’ve done this ab exercise before – hands interlocked behind your head, feet straight up to the ceiling, lower legs down at 3 different levels), bonus move: reverse pushup (yeah… I couldn’t do this one either, I had to do hip raises)
  • Cool down: stretching (includes pigeon pose)

 

Overall:
Instructor: As I’ve stated before, Jillian kind of annoys me. I don’t know what it is… maybe her attempt at friendly banter or her I’m-such-a-badass-and-can-whip-you-into-shape-in-30-mins.-4-days-a-week atttude. First off, no normal person can get ripped like Jill or any other ripped trainer/woman in 30 mins. a day, 4 days a week. Unless maybe you eat an all-raw diet. I like Jill’s workouts, but I’m not a fan of her. And she talks too much for me.
Moves: I’m no pro yogi, but I did quite a few poses I wasn’t familiar with, so it was fun to try them all.
Best Workout: I felt like Level 1 was better for me because I could do it, but it was still challenging. Level 2 got a little intimidating.
Intensity Level: Intermediate to Advanced (I would suggest having done yoga a good handful of times before you try this workout)
Buy It?: If you’re a beginner yogi, I would pass on this DVD. I think this is for the yogi who is looking for a good cardio-y yoga workout and not the om/calming experience. This is far from relaxing and calming – in fact, I found it to be close to any other workout DVD I’ve done. I grunted a bit, shook a lot, and started to sweat. All of my muscles were engaged, which was a great feeling, but it felt more like a bodyweight workout than a yoga one. As in, I didn’t feel like I got in touch with my body and lengthen and stretch out much. It was very go-go-go, power-speed-energy as opposed to breathe-stretch-lengthen-hold-focus. As for me, I liked it. I think if you’re a regular yogi or a yogi looking for more of an all-body moving and toning workout, you should try this DVD. It’s different. But if you need the stretching, calming kind of yoga most people stereotypically think of, then pass on this.

Leave a Reply

