Motivation Monday

Posted: June 27, 2011 in Music

Did you give yourself a dose of health and happiness today?

If the thought of wearing a bathing suit isn’t enough to make you eat more fresh fruit and veggies and work out a little harder, then what can motivate you? Your health and happiness. It’s plain and simple. The better you eat, the more water you drink, and the more active you are, the healthier you are. And quite honestly, the happier you tend to me. And if you can work out with someone you love and laugh a little while you’re at it, well I have a feeling that adds a few extra hours to your lifespan 🙂

What’s kept me motivated lately?

Races.
I’m signing up for a 5K or 10K at the end of July. I’m not sure which yet, but I’m doing one of them. It’s been a while since my injury and I haven’t done more than two runs longer than a few warm-up minutes on the treadmill. But I’m going to do this. It’s a great way for me to get outside and relax and breathe, and hey, when my sister’s in town on the weekends I get to run and chat with her, sans-kid interruptions. Bonus.

Farmer’s Markets and Fresh Fruit on Sale.
I live a few blocks from the local Farmer’s Market and it’s open every Saturday morning! Not to mention fresh berries and fruit are starting to crop up on sale at the grocery store. I loves it. I go and buy anything and everything and just chow down on fruit every day.

Teaching Workout Classes.
I know it requires you get certified to teach, but you can TAKE a class. That was always enough in the past to motivate me—I wanted to be fit enough to where I could finish each class without having to stop early. Being surrounded by others motivates me to push myself hard. Now as an instructor, I try to live by example. I want to eat well and work out hard and choreograph tough classes because I want to show people, especially other women, that you can lift weights and not get bulky, you can rock multiple forms or cardio, and you can be a jock in the gym and a lady outside the door.

Music.
One Day by Matisyahu ft. Akon
Don’t Stop the Party by The Black Eyed Peas

Beer.
Yep, sounds against all of my healthy preachings, but I’m a beer girl. We’ve got a local microbrewery here in GH that’s amazing. The guy brews everything himself and it’s totally worth the calorie splurge because it’s probably better for me than a Bud Light (which is gross anyways), it supports a local company, and when I go out and drink there, I have fun. I smile, laugh, and relax, and that’s always healthy. Just as long as it’s not every night!

Words.
“Just keep swimming.” Yes, Dory from Finding Nemo said that, but it’s one of my favorites. I always tell my friends, “Just walk forward. Keep moving forward. Even if it’s baby steps.” No matter the situation. You always, always need to move forward because standing still or trying to go back into the past isn’t logical… and it often makes hard things harder.

“Smile. You’re lucky.” Simple, but true. At least for me. I have no reason not to smile every day, as often as I can. All of my limbs function normally; I have full use of all of my sense; I have a great support network; and I have my own apartment and a job that I love, despite my age and the economy. What are you thankful for?

Other Women Who Work Out.
The women at the gym who take my classes and want to be pushed and want to learn how to lift. I love determination. There’s a woman who has two small children and looks great, not to mention she’s training for her first half marathon! She inspires me.

My sisters. One sister was back to her pre-baby body weight in a few weeks. The other has had 5 kids in 8 years and is in the best shape of her life. Both love to run, love to lift, and love to play.

What and who inspires and motivates you to be healthy and happy?

Leave a Reply

