Out with April, In with May

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Monthly Recaps

This is me in Spring time. Kind of...

Happy May! Holy cow. Let’s hope all this rain and cold weather will switch to Spring and Summer conditions soon. I do love my sweaters, but this is getting a little ridiculous. And I want to frolick in the flowers. It’s true, I’ll admit it.

I wrote yesterday, but, of course, my computer was going too slow and it wouldn’t load. I’m sorry for my lack of a more timely round-up. I’m wearing down, the race is 11 days away and counting, and I’m battling injuries.

This weekend was a successful and painful weekend. As if I wasn’t battling enough (blisters, shin splints, a possible toenail-losing situation, knee pain), I got a cold last week. But, I increased the liquids and rocked the DayQuil. The result? I ran 4mi on Friday and then did my big 12-miler on Saturday. Granted it was a bit slower than my normal pace, but I did it and felt pretty good after… except for the fact that my blisters were rubbing and raw again 😦 Not cool. Doesn’t matter, I move on. It’s officially time to decrease the cross-training, stop the weight-lifting (at least the heavier, full sets lifting), decrease my miles, and increase the Pilates, yoga, and stretching. Let’s see if I can will myself to be good and not cross-train. I love my cross-training.

Enough about me, it’s time for the April wrap-up. Here are my favs from April…

Top Pick DVDs:

  1. Personal Training with Jackie: Xtreme Timesaver Training
  2. Gorgeous Core with Suzanne Bowen


Best Jams:

  1. Give Me Everything by Pitbull Ft. Ne-Yo, Nayer, and Afrojack
  2. Little Lion Man by Mumford & Sons
  3. C’Mon by Tiesto vs. Diplo Ft. Busta Rhymes


Go-To Quotes:

  1. “The finish line is just the beginning of a whole new race.” -Unknown
  2. “It’s never too late to become what you might have been.” -George Elliot
  3. “The only real failure in life is the failure to try.” -Unknown

Food, Food, Food, Food (My Brain’s Like A Hungry Dog’s):

  1. Good and Bad Food Habits
  2. Breakfast Cookies!

Hello, Inspiration:

  1. My buddy Alex, who completed his first triathlon!
  2. Charlotte, who has made it her mission to try new and different exercises every day, week, month, year and wrote a book on it!

Why, No, I Didn’t Know All That! But Now I’m Glad I Do:

  1. Hydration Dos and Don’ts
  2. The After-Burn Exists! And It’s Epic…
Leave a Reply

