Foodalicious Friday

Posted: April 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

I do loves me some coffee - it just smells and tastes so darn good! I would by myself a large one every day if I could.

Seriously, I’m falling apart. This is not cool. Just as my blisters are finally starting to heal, I start to get sick. Sore throat, headache, a little more tired than usual. Not fun or comfortable. I’ve been drinking tea and water by the gallon, and eating fruit by the bowlful (and some other prolly-not-as-good-for-me treats, *cough* dark chocolate *cough cough*, but oh well, they sound good) in hopes of knocking this out of me. I’m scheduled to run today and do my long run tomorrow! No time to be sick now, the race is 16 days away and counting.

As I am engrossed in yet another weight-loss competition, while also trying to stay smart and healthy for my race, I’ve been doing research on a bunch of things food and drink-wise. I thought I’d share my findings.

It’s a debate that I’ve heard both sides of… will caffeine help you lose weight? I mean, it is one of the main ingredients in diet pills (*Side Note: Weaning yourself off diet pills sucks. You go through major caffeine withdrawal. Trust me. I decided to wean myself off them during final exams. Not the brightest of ideas.)

I’m a runner. I like snacks. So I found this to be a good little guide because it told me which snacks are “good” and why.

Hydration during runs and long periods of exercise always throws me. I obviously want to be hydrated, but (TMI ALERT!) I have a bladder the size of a pregnant woman’s so I always fear drinking too much. How much is enough? Too much? How long before I run certain distances should I drink and how much should I drink? Here are some good tips.

I’m pretty much a vegetarian/pescatarian these days. It’s sometimes a challenge to be an athlete and have a “restricted” diet though… Then I found this blog about a vegetarian athlete and his tips are great. I especially like the shopping list he devised.

And a vegetarian comfort-food recipe that I have a feeling will soon be my guilty pleasure:

Salsa Lasagna
Ingredients

  • 16 oz. can vegetarian refried beans
  • 1 C. salsa (mild, medium, or hot depending on taste)
  • 1 C. cottage cheese, divided
  • 9 lasagna noodles, cooked and divided
  • 1 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese, divided


Directions
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Combine refried beans and salsa in a small saucepan, heat on medium-low until warmed through, stirring well to mix. Spread 2 Tbsp. of the mixture into an ungreased 8×8-in. baking dish, arrange 3 noodles on top. Layer with half the remaining mixture, half the cottage cheese, and ½ c. cheddar cheese. Repeat layers once more starting with the noodles, and top with remaining noodles and cheddar cheese. Bake for 30 mins. until bubbly.

 

Leave a Reply

