Personal Training with Jackie: Xtreme Timesaver Training (2010)

Posted: April 27, 2011 in DVD Reviews

Her abs may look fake, but this workout made me believe that they can be real.

I’m going to stick to my guns and not blather today. Straight into the DVD review.

Jackie Warner. I’m really not sure why her workouts aren’t as well-known and talked about as Jillian Michaels’ because her workouts definitely kick my butt… more so than some of Jillian’s I’ve tried.

Personal Training with Jackie: Xtreme Timesaver Training (2010)

Where I Got This DVD: Jackie’s camp – thanks guys!
Length: Approx. 32 mins.
Workouts: 1 workout separated into parts
Instructor: Jackie Warner
Team: Madison and Jerico (modifier)

*Note: Have a variety of weights with you! I had my 3s, 5s, and 10s near me. I started with my 3s and switched to my 5s.

Warm-Up:

  • Light jogging, lunges, punches
  • A great body warmer

 
Glutes and Shoulders:

  • 1 min. per exercise
  • Multi-muscle moves: curtsy squat with side punch and kick, runner’s lunge with fly – approx. 5 moves
  • I started to feel the burn immediately – oh my shoulders!

 
Quads and Arms:

  • Hold a squat and curl, lunges with chest moves, balance challenges, squats with punches and kicks

 
Hips, Chest, and Back:

  • Magic move: get on all 4s, with your left hand with the weight and punch out as you extend your right left behind, and curl your elbow into your knee
  • Love this move: Walk out to pushup, pushup, walk back, grab weights on either side of your feet, stand up and raise weights in a military press

 
Functional Core and More:

  • No crunches! Woo!
  • All shoulder, leg, arm work that rocks your balance so your core is really worked


Cool-Down:

  • Nice cool-down, with good stretches – approx. 4-5 moves

 

Overall:
Instructor: I really like Jackie. Like I said in my review of her ab workout, she’s encouraging without being demeaning, talkative and helpful without being annoying, and motivating without being mean. Something else random I noticed—she used music that was popular but was more of a techno-y, upbeat remix without the lyrics. Great stuff.
Moves: I hadn’t done one of these moves before! I was blown away… as I dripped with sweat.
Best Workout: The Hips, Chest, and Back section was way hardcore.
Worst: NONE!
Intensity Level: Beginner to Advanced. Like her other DVD, there are great modifications and plenty of advanced mods, too!
Buy It?: Yes. Everyone talks about being tight on time and I hear ya. It’s rough some days. But in 30 mins. you will get an amazing workout that makes you drip sweat. And not one move is your everyday workout DVD move. Your entire body is rocked. You feel every muscle. It. Is. Awesome. I love this workout and you will too. My only complaint was that Jackie’s transitions between moves are a little too quick for comfort. I had to pause and rewind a few times, but it ultimately didn’t take away from the workout.

Comments are closed.