Motivation Monday—What One Does When Sore, Tired, and Busy

Posted: April 25, 2011 in Articles, Music, Online WO Reviews

Delicious death

Anyone else feeling the post-holiday ugh/stomach-gurgle sensation? I definitely ate too much of everything yesterday, thanks to my mother’s wonderful, I-can’t-say-no-to-any-of-it cooking. And my niece’s and nephew’s very kind candy-sharing abilities. (“Another jelly bean? Sure…” as it’s being pushed into my palm or shoved into my mouth.) Needless to say I had to turn on some music that I just can’t help but sing along to in the car to avoid dozing off. Success.

But I paid for it. I woke up in a cold sweat more than once and slept like crap. Note to self: an excessive amount of processed food and candy makes me sick. Cue the Tums and Zantec.

Other than that, it was a decent workout weekend. I took Friday off to mentally prepare for my 12-miler on Saturday with my sister. However, I only made it 10 L My dang blisters reopened (stupid me for not covering them in the first place), and I was hobbling by mile 10. I like to think I would’ve made it the last 2 had I been smart enough to wrap my feet ahead of time. Another mental note. Sunday was lower-key with some DVD/VHS reviews and goofing off in the backyard with my niece and nephew. (Heck yes I played soccer in leggings, a tunic, dangly earrings, and my cleats!) Back to the grind, though, today. In order to keep myself accountable as beach season quickly approaches, I’m joining a new weight-loss competition through one of the gyms I take classes at. It’s an 8-week thing involving weekly weigh-ins. It’s $10 to enter—half going to a charity and half to the winner. I figured it’s for a good cause and will keep me motivated. I’ll keep y’all posted.

As I sit here sipping my minty green tea, I’m thinking about this coming week. I have lots of running to get in and there’s lots of rain in the forecast. My shins and knees are sore, this week at work is going to be full of overtime to catch up on projects and a training session off-site, and I can already foresee the lack of sleep. How does one who is pretty self-motivated, like myself, continue to stay motivated through it all?

Good question. The answer I settled on? New challenges.

For one, I’m joining this weight-loss competition. That should keep me motivated when it comes to eating. (I’m always more conscious of what I’m eating when I’m in a competition.) Workout-wise, it’s time for some new athletic challenges. I train to be an athlete, not just to stay in shape and look good in a bikini. I like being an athlete. And since I’m trying to be careful how much/often I lift weights since my 25K is less than 3 weeks away (holy goodness!), I still need and want the effects and feelings I get when I lift (I feel strong and hardcore!).

Challenge #1: Ab work. I’m pathetic at incorporating ab moves into my routine. Lazy is a good word, too. So I’ve been reading up on new ways to get excited about working my core (especially since it’s my least favorite body part). Luckily, I found some awesome posts and articles.

  • Your ab questions answered by my favorite blogger, Charlotte (stay tuned for my review of her book later this week and my interview w/ her!).
  • “Abs are made in the kitchen, not the gym.” Darnit… I know this dude’s right (*Replaces 100 Grand Bar back in my green St. Patty’s Day candy cauldron).
  • Feeling ballsy? Try the Wicked Wiper (Charlotte’s post mentions it). So… Anyone have a pull-up bar they want to let me try this on? Not sure I feel comfy attempting this in front of all of the muscley, wandering-eyed men at my gym…
  • Pilates. It’s one of my New Year’s Resolutions, to do more Pilates. Well, here at the top shrink-your-belly moves.
  • I definitely need to try these 5 Top Core Exercises (scroll to the bottom)

Challenge #2: Get my runs in no matter what. I plan to run outside in the rain and cold if I have to. Who knows what race day will be like…

Challenge #3: Work body weight exercises into every weight routine I do. Include: planks, pushups, lunges, squats, and tricep dips.

Challenge #4: Switch from heavy weights, low reps to lighter weights (think 3-5lbs.), high reps (think 30-100 reps per exercise). This will allow me to get my weight lifting in without completely depleting myself. Don’t get me wrong, high reps with low weight is still killer, but there’s a different kind of physical drain that comes with heavy weights.  

Other things to keep me motivated… 

Quotes:
What my sisters and I are having screen-printed on our running tanks:
Becca: “Never Lose Hope”
Rachel: “Never Give Up”
Me: “Never Back Down”

Jams:


What do you do when you’ve got a busy week? What’s your workout schedule like? How do you motivate yourself? What kinds of personal challenges have you set for yourself lately?

Comments
  1. charlotte says:

    Thanks for the link love! When you get that wicked wiper down, send me a pic!! And good luck with your competition – I’m sure you’ll rock it:)

Leave a Reply

