Motivation Monday

Posted: April 11, 2011 in Articles, Music

First weekend where it hit 70 degrees two days in a row here in Michigan – WOO! Who laid outside on the deck in front of the lake in their bikini? ME! Yeah, that’s right, I did it. After running my first-ever 10-miler and doing it solo, I got to relax in the sun in my bikini. I was okay with it.

So yeah, big weekend for me – I ran 10 miles in the glorious sun and then danced my booty off at an 80s bar party. Now that’s what I call a good Saturday. What kind of activity did you do outside this weekend?

The big deal right now is that it’s basically spring, which means how many months until summer, aka bathing suit season? Roughly 1.5-2 months. (Not counting my craziness, which will have me in my bikini every weekend over 70 degrees that I can.) It’s move-it time. Need some help? I’m always here to bounce ideas and questions off. Need motivation? I got that too. I post some on Mondays, but again, I’m always here to push you if you need and wanted to be pushed. I can be Jillian Michaels. It’s true.

Okay, this is only kinda like me when I run. I'm sure my face looks semi-pissed, but it doesn't look like a dude's... and I'm not blonde. And don't wear a head sweatband.

To start, let’s look at food-ness. Who doesn’t want to learn to reduce their cravings!? I’m pretty sure that’s an everyday issue for everyone. Or maybe it’s just me because my appetite is like a bodybuilding man’s.

Okay, this isn’t really super-fitness-y, but I read about them from a magazine (Health.com) and they were interesting… Limes! Not just garnishes for drinks:
1) Hangover Helper: Combine 2 tsp. fresh lime juice and 1/4 tsp. sugar. Add to an 8-oz. glass of water and drink slowly first thing in the morning.
2) Splatter Eraser: Lime’s citric acid is great at curring through grease and gunk. Put 3 Tsp. lime juice in a mug filled with water and heat until boiling in the microwave. Let stand for a few mins., remove, wipe the microwave witha  soapy rag, then wipe again witha a clean wet rag and you’re done.
3) Skin Brightener: Mix 3 Tbsp orange massage oil, 1 Tbsp agave nectar, freshly squeezed lime juice from half a lime, and 2 Tbsp sea salt in a bowl. Massage the mixture all over your body using a circular motion, rinse, and pat dry. THe lime juice’s vitamin C rejuvenates skin, while its acids and the salt slough off dead skin cells.
4) Disease Fighter: Add a squeeze of lime juice to a cup of green tea for a supercharged health drink.

Your workout website of the day is That’s Fit. They have everything from all the different diets out there and reviews on each (not my fav, but interesting), celebrity interviews, DVD reviews, workouts, info from experts, and motivational-ness. It’s a fun-to-poke-around-on website, fosho.

WHOA BABY! This woman lost 140 lbs.! That’s a whole person! And she did it without a reality show. (Pst! That means you can too!)

Wise Words from Wise Men
“Do or do not… there is no try” -Yoda
“A day without training is a day without value”  -Will from VO2MaxOut.com
“Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise” -Ben Franklin

And last but not least…
Tunage:

  • Give Me Everything by Pitbull ft. Ne-Yo, Afrojack, and Nayer – I have seriously been listening and dancing to this in my car every day. Every day.
  • Daniel by Bat for Lashes – I know, you’re thinking, “What is this!?” It’s random and it’s from some guy’s running playlist, but hey, when you’re running 10 miles, you can’t listen to Tiesto and Pitbull for an hour and a half, so this is a good jam for the middle part of a long run.
  • Cry For You by September – Reminds me of my times in London… oh, London, how I miss you…

Okay your turn! What motivates you for summer and beach season? I need more songs, too! These runs of mine are getting longer and I’m exhausting the same songs… Help!

Comments
  1. Oh girl I got you on the songs front 🙂
    Kelly Rowland – Commander: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwfKZ-1jyiw
    Cascada – Night Nurse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsDWj2NhInc
    The Veronicas – Untouched: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykW4rtW2eu0

    Enjoy!

  2. I’ll be sure to submit more in the coming days, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

