Foodalicious Friday

Posted: April 1, 2011 in Recipes

I’ve been running into some holy-soreness and holy-I’m-hungry-like-a-dude moments this week. Amping up my mileage has made me wicked hungry, even though I’ve been used to exercise for that amount of time for a while now. Not to mention I’ve been going vegetarian/as-vegan-and-raw-as-I-can on Tuesdays for Lent. (And I run on Tuesdays… goo.) So I’ve been looking for some fast and easy, non-calorie-killing-but-really-filling meals.

One is quinoa. I’ve heard about it for a while now, but never tried. Thanks to my lovely big sister who has been buying it, and my lovely mother who bought some and split the bag with me, I got my hands on some with the quick-and-easy directions to go with it. I tried it and yeah, it’s a little bland, but I’m a spice and veggie mixer anyways, so it worked.

Quinoa Crunch (that’s what I’m calling it):

  • 1/2 c. quinoa (I use an organic kind)
  • 1 c. water
  • celery
  • cabbage
  • raisins
  • dried cranberries (Craisins rock)

Bring the 1 c. of water to a boil and add the quinoa in. Let it simmer for about 15 mins. until the quinoa has soaked up the water, like rice. As that’s cooking, I cut my celery into small pieces, ripped my cabbage into smaller pieces, and combined it all in a bowl with some raisins and cranberries. No, I didn’t measure the amounts. When the quinoa was cooked, I dumped the bowl of goodies in and stirred it around. I keep it on low on the stove to get everything else tender and slightly cooked.

I ate this just by itself, but it’s a great side dish to go with your meat and veggies at dinner. Super delicious, different than rice, and quite filling.
Another thing that I’ve been running into is bloating. May be TMI, but it’s true. All the running, the too-little sleep, some stress, and other crazies of life have taken its toll. Luckily I found this article about foods that beat bloat. WOO!
So foods that aid muscle recovery. I’ve been doing a lot of research on when I should eat, how much I should eat, and what kinds of food work best with my body for recovery. B/c like I said, I may have been an avid exerciser for years, but this running-long-distances thing is rough. True, I have bad knees and just had ACL surgery about 15 months ago, but that hasn’t stopped other athletes so I’m not going to let it stop me. Thus, the research. Here’s a great article I found about nutrition for muscle recovery.
Who doesn’t love quesadillas? I love all Mexican-y foods, but trying to find some that are healthy and filling can be an issue. Not anymore – yum.

Goat Cheese, Caramelized Onion, and Spinach Quesadilla

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • sprinkle of sugar
  • 2 cups thinly sliced onion
  • 9 ounces baby spinach
  • 4 ounces semisoft goat cheese
  • 4 8-inch whole wheat flour tortillas
  • any kind of peppers

*Note: I love veggies except tomatoes. So I subbed peppers in for the tomatoes. And of course, since this recipe is pretty simple, you can add anything to it! That’s why I love it. Throw in some chicken or shrimp and mushrooms and call it a crazy good meal.

Heat the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion and a sprinkle of sugar; cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is a dark golden brown. Remove from pan. Add the spinach and 1 tablespoon water to the skillet; cook 2 minutes, or until spinach is just wilted. Remove from skillet and turn off heat. Spread a quarter of the goat cheese on each tortilla and top with peppers, onion, and spinach; fold closed and press lightly. Heat the skillet and place two folded quesadillas in it; cook two minutes per side, or until golden brown and lightly crisp. Repeat. Enjoy. Repeat the enjoyment by eating another.

What about you guys? Have any good recovery recipes that are packed with good carbs, yummy proteins, and some mhmmm veggies? Share please 🙂

Comments
  1. Made the quesadilla to great success for my house dinner tonight! Worked particularly well because we stock everything but the goat cheese, so it was easy, cheap, and quick! Thanks for the recommendation and keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

