Motivation Monday

Posted: March 28, 2011 in Articles, Music

What’s worse than a case of the Mondays? Typing up an awesome blog post and then having the site time out and error on you as you’re trying to post it. Awesome.

No matter, I’m okay with redoing it because, after all, it was a great weekend and I have some things you should get excited about.

On Saturday I went to a Zumbathon. Two hours of Zumba in a not-too-small room with a-few-too-many-people-for-that-not-too-small room. It was warm, all of us women sweat, and the music was awesome. There were four instructors so we got to taste a little bit of everything Zumba-wise. Now, I wasn’t enthusiastic about the Zumba craze when it was introduced to me, but I tried it, I have attempted to embrace it, and this weekend I found my inner Zumba nerd. I had so much fun. I’ve never been one to try to seriously show off my dance moves where others can see and judge me. But I finally learned to just watch the instructor, listen to the music, and shake it. I didn’t care who saw me. I just danced. And I gotta tell ya, it was freeing. Sounds corny, I know, but with all of the energy in the air and the latin music surrounding me, I let go. My girlfriends who went with me know what I’m talking about ūüėČ I encourage you to try a Zumbathon if there’s one in your area! It’s a great workout and something very different than my everyday training.

Shake What You’re Mama Gave Ya (And yes, that means you, too, dudes!):

This is Zuzana – she’s in ridiculously good shape. I’ve been hesitant to intro you all to her because her workouts are insane. But her story is¬†a little different than most and quite¬†inspiring. Read about her and follow her… girlfriend knows what she’s doing!

Quoteth They:
“Lack of activity destroys the good condition of every human being, while movement and methodical physical exercise save it and preserve it.”¬†¬†-Plato
“Fear is what stops you… courage is what keeps you going.” -Unknown
“Energy and persistence conquer all things.” -Benjamin Franklin

Have a problem with mindless, stress-induced snacking? I DO! I’m not afraid to say it. My eating habits – especially my snacking habits – are my #1 downfall. So I’ve been brainstorming lately and have thought of a few ways to get myself on a better track, both at the office and at home.

  1. At work: If you crave a snack, pop a mint in your mouth,¬†do a lap (or several)¬†around the office, and drink a glass of water when you sit back down. Once the mint flavor is gone check to see if you’re still hungry. If you are, have a snack.
  2. At work or home: Is that chocolate treat calling your name? (When isn’t it!?) Eat a big piece of fruit or a serving of fresh veggies first, followed by a glass of water, before allowing yourself to have the treat. If you still want it, have it. Chances are you won’t want/be able to eat as much.
  3. At home: Instead of digging into the snacks, grab a glass of water and dig into a book. Make sure you’re in another room or facing away from the kitchen, and tell yourself that you have to finish the big glass of water and read at least one chapter before you go back into the kitchen.
  4. At home: Make yourself go through a mini circuit or do some exercise¬†before you have that dessert. Take a walk and call a friend or family member; do a series of¬†20 push-ups, situps, tricep dips, planks, and squats; clean up around the house for 10-20 mins. – then see if you’re still hungry.

Most often I’m hungry because I’m stressed or tired. It happens to all of us, but it can be avoided most of the time. It’s not easy, and some days are much harder than others, I know. But if you try to eat cleanly, do something active every day, and sleep at least 7 hours a night (let’s be honest, 8 is hard!), ¬†it’ll be easier to bypass the cravings because you’ll be so happy and proud of the track you’re on. That’s why I move around a lot. I’m less likely to go for the chocolate bar if I’ve just worked out! No sense in ruining a great workout with crappy junk food.

How do you stop cravings and mindless stress eating? Share the knowledge!

Leave a Reply

