Motivation Monday

Posted: March 21, 2011 in Articles, Music

Well I did it. I took my AFAA Group Exercise Certification exam and am 99.9% sure I passed. In short, the day started at 9am, included an overview of what AFAA focused on, reviewing for and practicing our practical exam (a 3-min. warm-up, a 4-min. steady state cardio routine, a 1-min. cool-down, a succession of 10-12 strength moves according to muscle group followed by a stretch for that muscle group, and a 1-2 min. individual presentation on how to do a specific move, including a modification and advancement (I taught a squat)), reviewing the study guide for the written exam, and then the 100-question practical exam. I was out of there by 3pm, happy, confident, and relieved that it was over! I definitely over-studied, but ya know what? I don’t care. I loved learning about everything, even if some of it was science-y and technical and detailed because it’s going to make me a better group exercise instructor and trainer. It’s made me look at health and fitness in a different light—a healthier, more progressive light. Exercise is about pushing your body because it can be pushed; it’s about keeping your body healthy so it can do and be around for everything that you want it to be; it’s about respecting your body and eating for fuel; it’s about being active and having fun. It’s definitely gotten me out of my comfort zone, too. I’ve tried so many different workouts now and have fallen for quite a few! Even if they all don’t make me drip sweat like running or Spinning, they’re fun and I’ve met some great people.

Next step? Start talking to local gyms to put me on their substitute teaching list and perhaps convincing my main gym to let me add a class to their schedule. I’ll keep you all posted 🙂

Now it’s time to rock.

Shake It Like a Polaroid Picture:

Quote-tastic:
“Every second chance begins with a first step.” (Yeah… I know it’s the tagline from Step Up, but it’s such a true statement!)
“Strive for progress, not perfection.”  – Unknown
“You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” – Wayne Gretzky
“Motivation will almost always beat mere talent.” – Norman R. Augustine

Here’s an interesting article about Why We Love Food… it’s not specifically motivating, but it’s definitely important to understand how and why we eat like we do in order to change our habits. Especially our Americanized eating habits… good gosh.

This woman is 75 or 76 years old and still competes in Ironmans. With broken clavicles. Yes, really. Harriet Anderson is not only an inspiration but a first-hand example that it doesn’t matter when you start exercising—you can do whatever you set your mind to. I so hope I’m this awesome when I’m her age! Read about and articles by her. 

Have no fear! There are healthy, natural snacks out there! No more mindless work munching. Well even if you do, these snacks are okay to munch on!

Comments
  1. charlotte says:

    Congratulations!!! So exciting! I hope you get a class of your own soon!

Leave a Reply

