Motivation Monday

Posted: March 14, 2011 in Articles, Music

It was a weekend of celebrating and preparation for me. Celebrating my weight loss, one week until my AFAA certification, and sticking to my running plan thus far. I had a good run yesterday followed by some yoga and a sweat-filled Spinning class this morning. I feel myself getting stronger both physically and mentally. Those are great feelings, let me tell you.

In honor of my female athlete-ness, I want to highlight some hardcore female athletes. They’re hot, they’re BA, they’ve conquered many things… and they’re women. Sorry, boys, I’m rockin’ the girl power vibe: Top female athletes

Some who I find particularly inspiring:

1. Harriet Anderson
2. Okiima Pickett
3. Trish Downing
4. Colleen Cannon  

UPDATE! TODAY’S LATE ADDITION –
The Ugly Truth:

According to my Fitness: Theory & Practice textbook (the one I’m studying for my AFAA Certification)…
…Only an estimated 15% of Americans are currently physically active enough to derive substantial health benefits from that activity.
…60% of the population is not getting a min. amount of recommended physical activity.
…About 25% lead a sedentary lifestyle.
…Around 50% of people who start an exercise program drop out within 6 mon.

This is a sad, harsh reality. So many factors play into those statistics, but they aren’t good enough excuses to not take care of yourself. Do any of the above describe you? If so, how have you gotten to that point? What can you do to turn things around and put yourself on a path to health and wellness? Try making a list of 3 to 5 non-sedentary activities that you like to do and think about how you can incorporate them or some variation of them into your week.

Quotes to Live by:
“Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go, only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be.” – Karen Ravn 

“Ability is what you’re capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it.” – Lou Holtz

“The finish line is just the beginning of a whole new race.” – Unknown

My Music Box:

I could use some more music… any suggestions? What do you run or spin or ride to?

Leave a Reply

