Denise Austin Hot Body Yoga (2010)

Posted: March 8, 2011 in DVD Reviews

It’s Fat Tuesday! Did you have your fried dough stuffed with some sort of sugary filling? I did 🙂 What are you giving up for Lent (if you are giving up something)? Doesn’t matter if you are or aren’t giving up anything, you can surely add exercise and workout DVDs to your routine.

My girlfriend recommended this DVD to me (thanks Mel!) because she’s been getting into yoga DVDs lately – good thing because I’ve been trying more yoga myself.

Denise Austin Hot Body Yoga (2010)

Will this DVD really give you a hot bod? I'm not so sure about that...

Where I Got This DVD: From Total Fitness DVDs
Length
: Approx. 61 mins.
Workouts: Yoga Fit and Yoga Sculpt
Instructor: Denise Austin
Team: A team of 4 women, 2 men (one of the dudes is the modifier)

Yoga Fit (Approx. 30 mins.)

  • Moves include: downward dog, stretching, eagle, side angle pose, pose of the dancer (quad stretch while hinging forward), hinge forwards with arms (pyramids, maybe?), balancing stick (balancing on one leg, hinging forward, and forming a T), floor side Ts, lying on the floor and doing low back work, ab work (Pilates-esque), sitting stretches
  • Certain moves tested my balance and I would never have thought they would have done so!
  • The moves were more stretching than yoga (to me) and I didn’t get sweaty, however, they did feel really good stretch-wise

Yoga Sculpt (Approx. 30 mins.)

  • Need set of light weights
  • Moves include: sun salutations, twists, chaturanga, shoulder exercises, tree pose, one-leg balance challenges, warrior with lunge and bicep curl, lots of holding in a pose to work balance with an arm move added on, floor work with torso lifts, ab work (Pilates-esque), end with stretches
  • A mix of Pilates, yoga, and weight-lifting
  • One thing I noticed that I have to mention is that even though I may not know yoga very well yet, but I feel like Denise doesn’t hold each pose long enough

Overall:
Instructor: Good. Gosh. Denise Austin’s voice. It just grates on my ears, I’m sorry. The woman knows what she’s doing, but her voice is super annoying. Not to mention she gets very handsy during the first workout especially. She’s very talkative, over-explaining and over-“calming” you to the point where it’s not relaxing. It’s very hard to do the pose and not look at her, which, of course, breaks your balance and focus. I’m not a big fan of her motivational talks.
Moves: A mix of stretching, Pilates, and yoga – overall, just okay
Best Workout: Yoga Sculpt because it includes the weights
Worst: I wouldn’t categorize either as “bad.”
Intensity Level: Beginner to Intermediate
Buy It?: The exercises stretched me out well and worked on my balance, but I’ve done better yoga DVDs that are more yoga-focused. Not to mention Denise’s teaching voice just throws me off completely. If you’re looking for an intro to yoga DVD that is lighter on the yoga and more of an all-around stretch, low-intensity workout, you would like this, but if you’re looking for an actual yoga DVD, I would pass. Sorry, Denise.

Comments
  1. Bootylicious says:

    Denise Austin Hot Body Yoga? I think not. Kelsey Turek Hot Body Yoga Fo Sho!

  2. Diana Chewning says:

    I like Denise Austin, wathed her on Fit TV, she is alright but I prefer-see below
    I have quite the Yoga DVD collection

    I love Rodney Yee and Shiva Rae and of course for Ashtanga I reccomend with Sharath,
    happy Yoga ing…::))

Leave a Reply

