Training for a (Big) Race…

Posted: March 2, 2011 in Articles, Online WO Reviews

Big news: I signed up for my first 25K. Yes, 25. K. Goo. And not only that, but the biggest one in the U.S. – the Fifth-Third River Bank Run, which is amazingly in my hometown.

Now, I consider myself an athlete, a cardio-queen, a jock, and I’m not afraid to say I weight-lift and I like it. But I am terrified of this race. Terrified. Ever since I tore my MCL 6 years ago (it’ll be about 6 years to the day on race day – May 14), my endurance hasn’t been great while running. Sure, I can pwn out 5Ks pretty easily now, but anything longer = I get bored and sore. So why am I going it? Because I have to. It’s the next step. Sure, some consider a “next step” as me getting my Group Fitness Certification, but that’s a different kind of step. That’s just continuing and going up a level from where I already am; furthering my education to do something long-term. But the 25K is completely new territory. I’ve never stuck to a strict or even well-structured training regime; I’ve always made up my own. (That and long-term commitment is somewhat foreign to me…) So why do I think I can do this then? Because it’s all mental now. And because I’m running it with my two sisters—one is 28 (almost 29) and just had her first baby a month ago (today! Happy 1 Month B-day Maddie!!!) and the other is 37 and has had 5 kids, yes, 5! They’re rock stars! They’ve both run a marathon before and love running more than I do, which is part of the reason I was hesitant to sign up to run with them, but they’re both right—I work out for prolonged periods at a time, so I can do this. Their faith, support, and help will get me through this. I can’t wait to cross the finish line with them J

So where do you go once you sign up for something that’s out of your realm? Luckily I subscribe to magazines that provide spring training charts and this year’s is for a half marathon, which isn’t quite a 25K, but it’s close and a starting block (thanks Fitness magazine!). The River Bank’s website also has a few training plans, too.

There you have it. Nothing fancy or crazy different. I’m going to stay with my workout schedule now, which includes a combo of Spinning, Kickboxing, Zumba, and Pilates classes, and workout DVDs on my non-gym days, but make those lighter and amp up my running. And add in a lot of stretching (which is hard for me). It has to all be slow but sure, though, that’s what I am reminding myself. I can’t expect to pound out 10 miles a week after training, so patience is the name of the game. And a tough mental attitude.

The other step revolves around my diet. I need to focus on eating cleaner, tasting and enjoying every bite, and eating slower to decrease bloat and calories consumed. It’s not about losing weight; it’s about eating to fuel my body. I’ll keep you posted on things I read and find about eating for training—I’ve received a lot of good books from some popular endurance athletes and can’t wait to dig in!

What about you? Are you ready to start running? Take this quiz if you just started working out or want to break into running, but aren’t sure if you’re “there” yet.

Thinking of training for a 5K, 10K, Half-Marathon, or 25K? ‘Tis the season to break out of your shell and challenge yourself—spring is near and the weather is only going to get better. Here are some plans if you’re thinking of training.

5K plans:

10K plans:

Half-Marathon:

25K plans:

Marathon plan:

Sorry for the long post. I will keep everyone updated, but in the meantime, let me know if you’re training for something. What’s your plan look like? What have you found about food and nutrition for endurance training? What do you find essential for long runs (songs, water packs, gummies or sport gels, specific gear, etc.)? Please, share your stories and knowledge!

Leave a Reply

