Motivation Monday

Posted: February 21, 2011 in Articles, Music

After a few nice and mild days here in Michigan, it is back to cold, snow, and ice. It was inevitable, but that doesn’t lessen the pain, especially since I got out for my first outdoor run of the season on Saturday. It was windy, but glorious 🙂

Time for some motivation. What do you need? What motivates you? I’d love any and all suggestions for the future. As for me, here are some things that motivate me:

I love reading and I love magazines. No iPad reading for me; I like the real stuff. Not to mention they’re perfect for reading while walking on an incline at the gym. I got emails about two really good deals going on right now (in fact, I just subscribed to WH myself!): Prevention and Women’s Health. 

Music. I love it. I need it. My playlist for the week rock some techno-y remixes:

Want to live a few years longer and age gracefully? Who doesn’t!? It’s not just about exercise, though… check out these 8 Tricks to Add Years to Your Life.

Having you had trouble sticking to your resolutions? Read this.

Success stories. I read about half of these at work on Friday because I just couldn’t get over how awesome these people are. They did these things by themselves! That means you can too. (And I know you can 🙂 )

And last but not least, my favorite, the Quote of the Day:
“Physical activity is one of the most powerful, and perhaps the most under-used tool for personal discovery, balance, and transformation. For me, training and racing was far more than simply grinding it out and competing — it was a chance to create harmony in all aspects of my life. I had the amazing opportunity to train with the world’s best athletes, coaches and doctors to help me gain the ‘winning edge’. As a result, I discovered that there is an athlete and winner within each of us. With clear vision and determination, we can all achieve our life’s dream.” – Colleen Cannon

So go and be active, be healthy, and be happy. You deserve it.

Comments
  1. Money is a big motivator for me! The cash prize at the end of this weight loss competition is what gets me up to workout in the morning. Obviously, I want to be healthier, but money talks!

  2. Kristina says:

    I found these weight loss blog posts recently and found them especially motivating.

    Warning: These are quite long. But they made me feel really good.

    http://glutenfreegirl.com/carry-that-weight/

    http://glutenfreegirl.com/spicy-escarole-with-sausage-and-tomatoes/ (this one is about eating REAL foods. And I NEED that book haha)

    http://www.notmartha.org/archives/2009/11/05/on-losing-weight-slowly/

    http://www.bodiesinmotivation.com/

Leave a Reply

