Pilates Workout for Dummies (2001)

Posted: February 16, 2011 in DVD Reviews

I admit that I was nervous about reviewing this DVD. The “for Dummies” brand always makes me think of something being spelled out in the most basic, simple way—in essence, “for Dummies” makes me think “too easy” unless I have no idea what I’m doing. But, I was happily surprised.

Pilates Workout for Dummies (2001)

Don't be fooled by the title - this is definitely a workout!

Length: Approx. 61 mins.
Workouts: Basic Pilates; Intermediate Pilates
Instructor: Michele Dozols 

Note: The case has chapter selections inside the DVD case.

Basic Pilates (Approx. 35-40 mins.)

  • 19 moves – most are well-known Pilates moves: hundreds, roll-ups, the saw, etc.
  • I suggest you listen to the intro if you’re new to Pilates
  • This section has helpful info that pops up in the form of myth busters, tips to make a move more basic or more challenging, remember blurbs, and beware bubbles
  • This segment goes quickly with good transitions – every move is labeled as well

Intermediate Pilates (Approx. 25 mins.)

  • 19 moves
  • A few different moves are incorporated here, some I hadn’t even done before, but they’re all good
  • No cues or titles or info pop ups in this section – it’s faster and smoother
  • Michele still explains how to do every move though
  • I really like the leg pull and side lift moves – I had never done them before!

Overall:
Where I Got This DVD: Borrowed it from a friend – thanks Michelle! I also saw it at the library.
Instructor: Michele Dozols is great. She explains everything without being annoying and her instructions are very helpful. I liked her a lot.
Moves: Classic moves mixed with a few newer ones.
Best Workout: Intermediate – had more moves I hadn’t done
Worst: They were both good
Intensity Level: Beginner
Buy It?: Will I buy it? Probably not, but that’s because I already have a few Pilates DVDs that I really like. But, if you’re just getting into Pilates or are looking for a solid I’m-going-to-do-this-once-a-week Pilates DVD, then this is a good one to get. It wasn’t as slow as I thought it was going to be and the moves were classic but still challenging. Even as someone who does Pilates on a regular basis, this was a good workout, especially the intermediate one.

Comments
  1. Martin says:

    Forgive me for being a dummy (which is fitting, considering where I’m posting this), but I’ve never really understood what Pilates was all about. Flexibility? Tone? Strength? Or, a combination? I haven’t taken the time to really examine what the benefits are.

    • Great question! Pilates is about toning and strengthening using just one’s body and body weight. It’s not quite as focused on flexibility and balance as yoga, but it includes those elements. It’s a very concentrated way of exercising, with most of the focus on the core, or the powerhouse as it’s usually referred to in the DVDs. It’s definitely a great new way to exercise without the impact or crazy cardio factor. You should try it!

Leave a Reply

