Foodalicious Friday

Posted: February 12, 2011 in Articles

Sorry I’m posting so late… my laptop was uncooperative earlier. Tonight, I’m doing something a little differently for today’s FF. Instead of posting recipes, I’m going to share some links and lists that include healthy eating habits. I’ve been getting a few questions about calorie, vitamin, carb, and sodium intake, so hopefully this will clear a few things up.

According to my Fitness: Theory & Practice book (the one I’m using to study for my AFAA certification), healthy women should follow these eating guidelines every day:
Calories: 1800-2000
Protein: 46g
Carbs: 45-65% of total daily calories
Water/Fluids: 6-8c.
Folic Acid/Folate: 400-800mg/4mg
Vitamin D: .005mg/200IU
Calcium: 800mg
Iron: 30-60mg
Potassium: 1875-5600mg
Sodium: 1100-3300mg

What about the food pyramid? Well one place to go is www.mypyramid.gov.

Another? Weight Watchers. Good health guidelines, according to www.WeightWatchers.com,  are as such:
Fruits & Veggies: 5 servings/day (9 if you weight more than 350 lbs.)
Liquids: 6-8 glasses/day
Milk products: 2 servings/day (3 if you’re a nursing mom, a teenager, are over 50, or weigh more than 250 lbs.)
Healthy Oils (olive, sunflower, flaxseed, safflower, canola): 2 tsp./day, nursing moms need 3
Multivitamin: 1/day
Lean Protein: 1-2 servings/day of cooked meat, fish, or poultry, each 2-3oz. big; for vegetarians, counts as 1oz. each of one egg or ½ c. cooked dry beans
Alcohol: Women should have no more than 1/day; Men 2/day

Okay… well, what are some other guidelines to follow? Something more specific? Take some or all of these woman’s tips on how to get Back-to-Basics Nutrition.

Hopefully these links and info will help you find your healthy, right-for-you nutrition plan. They definitely remind me that I need to focus on eating clean and raw as often as possible. Not only is it good for my health, but it helps me make it through my workouts without bailing out early or feeling sick.

Leave a Reply

