It’s Not Monday… But I Needed Some Pick-Me-Ups

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Articles, Quotes

How’s your week been? Mine’s been a bit rough – I’m feeling more tired by the day, work has me planted in my seat for the majority of the day, my workouts are getting harder to stick to intensity-wise, and my taste buds are craving chocolate. And ice cream. And macaroni and cheese. And pizza. And you get the picture.

But I was hit with a good quote last night that spiraled into me stumbling upon other forms of motivation during my mini for-me breaks at work today.So no DVD review today. I’m sorry. Just quick bursts and links to things that I found inspirational, motivational, informational, and all the other -ationals out there.

The quote is from the January 2011 Self magazine and it’s a random 2-page spread of a desert-like backyard with a woman diving into a beautiful pool. There’s only a short paragraph on the left-hand page and it reads:
Be fearless
If you make only one resolution this year, let it be to live boldly. You control this moment: Rather than cautiously test the water, dive straight into life with freeing abandon. Imagine the person you want to be and the life you want to live, then simply commit to them. Believe in yourself. Embrace your beauty. Discover a new passion. And whatever you do, wherever you go, don’t be afraid to make a splash.

There was something about that quote that as I read it while walking on the treadmill, made me almost forget to step again. It said it all without being specific. Without talking about diets and weight-loss and fitness. Without mentioning love and relationships. It stated the blunt, obvious, vague sense of reality: Be who you want to be by putting one foot in front of the other with gusto. It doesn’t matter who you want to be, just do what’s going to make you happy because you’re worth it. I love that.

The reminder I needed came from an article on Sparkpeople: “No Pain = BIG Gain” –  I have a tendency to over-train because I do love exercising and it is my way of relaxing, releasing, and having a “me” moment. But I’m not always careful.

I found inspiration in this article on Athleta Chi about a woman who got to run part of a race with the Ultramarathon Man Dean Karnazes. (Um… check out his site to for some holy-how-is-that-possible motivation/inspiration!) Beth’s last paragraph gave me shivers because it’s so… true… and real… and I needed it. I felt shivers because she’s so very right:
Post-run, as I sat in the icy Arkansas River, I thought about the lessons of the day. In order to live fully, you have to take chances and to be uncomfortable. One of my favorite quotes, “Believe deep down in your heart you are destined to do great things” (Joe Paterno) came to mind. Doing great things is subjective. To one person it might mean running a marathon, to another jogging a mile. What matters is that the battle is won. Something is accomplished that one did not think possible. I also realized that despite what we do, how we are labeled or how much money we have, we are more alike than we are different. Separation is a state of mind, not a true reality. I was truly invigorated.

I found more motivation in the Q&A section with Born to Run author Christopher McDougall. Let’s just say we own this book and I’ll be putting it in my bag tonight.

OK and one last quote of the day: “Believe deep down in your heart you are destined to do great things” – Joe Paterno (I know, interesting, right!? I’m a Spartan, it’s weird to like things Joe Paterno says.)
I hope you find something in this post that helps inspire you to keep moving, even if it’s literally just moving. Not running, but moving. It helped me take a step back to breathe and say, “I can do this. I am in control of me.”
Comments
  1. Martin says:

    I think this post is great. It shows that even the most devoted exercisers need that little extra push, that extra motivation, to keep going. Sometimes it is important to just step back, reflect on things, and not get burned out. Well done, Kels.

Leave a Reply

