Foodalicious Friday!

Posted: January 21, 2011 in Recipes

TGIF! I only have one recipe today, but it’s one that I “invented” and one that I make and love.

Couscous Smash

Ingredients

  • 1 box couscous (any flavor – I prefer the toasted pine nut)
  • 1 can beans (any kind! – I usually use black beans)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I usually buy the ones with jalapeno peppers in them!)
  • 1-2 peppers (I’ll use anything I have at the time – red, green, orange, yellow, a little of each)
  • onion (as much as you want – I usually use about ½ onion)
  • olive oil
  • mushrooms (I cut mine small so I usually use about 5 or 6 from those pre-packaged plastic containers)
  • any other veggies you want that you can dice up!
  • any kinds of spices you like – garlic powder, chili powder, black pepper, etc. 

Cooking Instructions
Finely chop your veggies and put them in a bowl off to the side. Boil water in a medium saucepan on the stove. Add a little olive oil to the water – a tsp. will do. As you can see, I don’t necessarily follow what the back of the couscous box tells me to do. Add the couscous when the water is boiling. Turn it down, cover it, and let it simmer for 5-10 minutes. In a medium skillet, put in a tsp. or so of olive oil and turn the heat to medium. Add a spice – I usually go with chili powder – and then add veggies you have in the bowl. Use a wooden spoon to move them around and get them toasty. When they’re cooked, take them out and put them back in the bowl off to the side.

Open and drain the can of tomatoes and black beans. I put mine in a colander and rinse them to get all of their canned juices off. Once you shake them dry a bit, add them to the skillet that your veggies were just in and get them warm. No need to cook them for long, just warm them up.

By now your couscous should be done. Add the skillet of beans and tomatoes and the bowl of cooked veggies into the saucepan of couscous. Turn the heat to low and stir everything together, adding more of your spice. Stir until everything is mixed together well.

Serve warm in a bowl and enjoy 🙂 There should be some leftovers for lunch the next day, too!

Super easy, super delicious, and super good for you. Enjoy!

Comments
  1. Martin says:

    That sounds delicious. I’ll have to try that.

  2. mmmmmmmmmmm perfect for all the vegetarians in my house – i’ll cook it on wednesday and let you know how it goes over!

  3. So I made your meal last night, and it turned out pretty darn well, if I do say so myself! I was worried because I essentially just threw together what we happened to have in the house (very obscure things if I do say so myself), but I got several compliments and personally thought it was delish! And easy. And vegetarian! Thanks for the awesome dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

