Get Ripped! 1000 with Jari Love (2006)

Posted: January 19, 2011 in DVD Reviews

I taught my first spinning class this morning! Super exciting. My instructor is out of town and since she knows I’m studying for my AFAA Certification, she let me teach while she was gone. Seemed to go pretty well – my classmates said I did well for my first time. That’s all I can ask for, I guess!

On to today’s review…

Did you know that the movie rental place (well, mine at least) has FREE fitness videos!? FREE! They had Billy Blanks, some old school 90s workouts, and then Jari Love, who I’ve heard about, seen her DVDs, and always wanted to try. So that’s what I did.

The cover of her DVD is crazy. She’s got a face full of makeup, hair down, skimpy outfits, a tiny waist, and some defined, BA muscles. She claims that you can burn big calories during her workouts. The truth? I’m sure I burned quite a few…

Get Ripped! 1000 with Jari Love (2006)

Can you get ripped with Jari? Yes, I believe I just may.

Where I Got This DVD: Rented it from Family Video
Length: Approx. 50 mins.
Workouts: Warm-Up, Full Workout, and Cool-Down
Instructor: Jari Love
Team: Laurie, Craig, and Gaylen – Laurie does most of the modified versions 

Note: There are a few options on the main menu. I would suggest watching the Intro before you do the full workout. The Bonus Features are interesting too!

Warm-Up (Approx. 5 mins.):

  • Have dumbbells with you – I suggest a lighter pair (I had 3lbs.) and a heavier pair (I used 5lbs.)
  • Craig doesn’t use a step, but the women do. I followed Craig because I didn’t have my step at the time
  • Jari does a few stretches, squats with dumbbells, arm movements with dumbbells, step ups, and ends with a few stretches

Workout (Approx. 40-45 mins.):

  • Circuit set up – starts with cardio segment (approx. 1 min. long) and moves to strength segment (time varies) – a total of 18 intervals
  • Slides intro each segment, cardio or strength
  • Jari always talks about how much weight everyone is using, who is doing the modified version, and who is doing an advance version
  • There is always a stretch at the end of each segment, cardio or strength
  • Cardio segments are quick and simple – squats, jumping jacks, jumps on/over the step, toe taps, up and downs on the step – I just modified each to do it without the step
  • Strength moves are combinations of lower and upper body – squats biceps, triceps, back, and shoulders – lots of squats and lots of arms, but great workouts
  • Abs segment at end = 50 total reps, about 5 different moves

Cool Down (Approx. 3-5 mins.): Stretching

Overall:
Instructor: Jari was way cooler than I expected. Yes, she works out with her hair down and a lot of makeup on, but the chica is ripped and soft-spoken and you can tell she works for what she’s got. She didn’t get on my nerves – there were a few silly comments, but I expect that now – and I liked how she did the modified version sometimes. It showed her real side.
Moves: Great stuff. By the end, my legs were shaky, I was sweaty, tired, and feeling all of my muscles! Combination moves are realistic and the best way to train, tone, and tire your muscles.
Best Workout: The whole thing! The interval system is my favorite – it never gives me a chance to be bored and keeps my mind and muscles constantly contracted and focused.
Worst: None! Even the warm-up was kick-butt.
Intensity Level: Intermediate to Advanced
Buy It?: Do you need a solid workout that incorporates it all—cardio and strength—into one, less-than-an-hour workout? Do you want something and someone different, but simple and classic enough to follow along to? Than this DVD is for you. The only thing I dislike about it is that it’s less than an hour. But it has some great features in the bonus section – motivational tips, the science of metabolism, other programs, and previews. I poked around a bit and there’s some good stuff for those just getting into fitness and need some extra motivation and information to pair with their new workout routine. So answering your question, yes, I do think this is a good DVD, and yes, I would suggest renting it or purchasing it. And yes, I do plan to review more of her stuff. It’s a perfect mix of everything – new, old, classic, consistent, cardio, abs, strength – you name it.

Leave a Reply

