Work Out with Me and My Personal Trainer!

Posted: January 9, 2011 in S&S Workouts

Ever hired a personal trainer? Always wanted to? Well DVDs are a step in a similar direction, but I’m here to share what it’s really like to have a personal trainer. I’ve done a few personal training sessions before, but all because of this mentality that I want to lose these each pounds NOW! and I need professional help to do it. Did it ever work? No. Then why did I decide to do it this time? Three main reasons:

1)       To spend more time with my spinning instructor, and now personal trainer, Marcia. Marcia is in her 50s, a vegan, a personal trainer and group exercise instructor certified in tons of things, super-duper ripped (I want her arms!), and the nicest, sweetest, spunkiest woman ever. Not to mention she teaches/instructs at two different places in the area, doing exercise from 5:30am to well after 5:30pm. I love being around her. Her love for fitness has rubbed off on me in a positive, more you’re-doing-this-good-thing-for-your-body way.

2)       To learn how to respect my body in a different way. I’ve been trying to get myself into the mentality that so contradicts our society: weight loss and muscle growth is slow, steady, and a life change. We’re the microwave generation—we want everything now. I’m guilty of it as much, if not more, than the next person. Learning to slow down and respect my body has been something I’ve been trying to do for a while, but I’ve failed. Getting a personal trainer who believes in that above getting you a hot bod is and will help me to breathe and see the big picture.

3)       To get more information about how to become a group exercise instructor and personal trainer. That’s right, I want to make fitness my life and my work since it’s already my passion. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job now and have no intention of leaving publishing or my dreams of being an author, but this blog has made me realize how much I love investing the time and energy into learning about fitness, trying things myself, and helping others. I want more of that. So I’m looking into being certified—soon. I’ll keep you posted.

Ready for the routine Marcia gave me? Let’s do this.
1)       Warm-up: She had me walk at a fast pace on the treadmill for 7 minutes and run for the last 3.
2)       Strength: She gave me a pallet of exercises, as she calls it, and told me to be my own artist and pick a few for my pallet every few days. I should do 3 sets of 12 reps each. Each leg exercise was done with a barbell and weights, but I don’t have those at home, so I use free weights. The arm exercises were done with free weights. (*I found instructional videos for as many as I could!)

  1. Bent Knee Dead Lift (*Note: For dead lift exercises, only lower weights to knees, not ankles!)
  2. Straight Leg Dead Lift
  3. Squats
  4. Bent Knee Dead Row
  5. Clean and Press (*Note: Don’t lower weights any lower than your knees)
  6. Dumbbell Chest Press
  7. Triceps Extension
  8. Tricep Dips (Use end of couch, low table, chair, step, etc. to place your hands)
  9. Push-Ups (She had me do these against a table, but a couch or step or the floor work too)
  10. Side Plank with Twist
  11. Crunch
  12. Crunch – In-Stack (Same as a basic crunch only this time lift your knees up parallel to the floor, knee caps over hips)
  13. 4-Count Pulls (Stay in  position from Crunch In-Stack and extend legs straight at knee, crunch up, hold, reach hand toward right leg and lower left leg, as you lower torso lift left leg back up, crunch up, hold, reach toward left leg and lower right leg, as you lower your torso lift your right leg back up)
  14. Dumbbell Front Raise (*Note: Use 2- or 3-lb. dumbbells only for these last 4 exercises!)
  15. Dumbbell Lateral Raise
  16. T-Raise (Do a Dumbbell Front Raise and hold at shoulder-height, open out into Dumbbell Lateral Raise Hands position (like a T), close arms together to Dumbbell Front Raise position, lower to sides – make sure to keep your palms facing in!)
  17. Lunge to Warrior III (Lunge back with right foot, hold for 1 count, raise up and hinge forward at waist, balancing on your slightly-bent left leg, arms with dumbbells extended in front of you – make sure your hips are facing forward, do not turn your right hip down! – come back to standing and repeat on the other side)

3)       Cardio: She didn’t specify, but I try to do AT LEAST 30 mins. of cardio a day, even if I lift.
4)       Stretch: She didn’t specify this either, but it’s smart to stretch for at least 5 mins. after your workout.

So there it is, my workout from my personal trainer. What do you think? I was a little surprised by the simplicity of the moves she gave me, but am looking at it in a positive way—what’s wrong with going back to the basics? How often to I actually focus on doing those basic moves, each with correct positioning? Not very often. Workout DVDs are great because they combine moves and keep you going, but sometimes your body just wants you to slow down and really engage in each individual move. I’ve vowed to do it at least once a week.

My favorite move? I have two: the 4-Count Pulls and the Lunge to Warrior III. They your muscle strength everywhere, with a focus on core and balance, two areas I need to improve.

Let me know if you guys need more explanation for some of the moves  and I’m happy to help! Or follow along with me and tell me how you’re doing!

Comments
  1. ooooooooooh, thinking of personal trainer certification? come to sf and i’ll hire you! keep me in the loop on that 🙂
    also i really appreciate you explanation for doing a personal trainer sesh – your reasoning makes a lot of sense to me. plus the video links are a++ and nice for someone like me who doesn’t come from a lot of familiarity with technical terms.
    lookin good girl!

  2. Wendy says:

    I am thankful Marcia is my personal trainer too! Body pump this morning was awesome, I even increased my weights. My fav is the clean and press, it makes me feel so powerful! Gobble Gobble, my exercise this weekend will be horseback riding:)

Leave a Reply

