The First Smorgasbord of Links, Info, and Fun!

Posted: January 3, 2011 in Articles, Music, Recipes

My work started our first weight-loss competition today called Move It & Lose It. The logistics are as such:

  • Length of competition = 10 weeks
  • $20 entry fee
  • Weigh-in on Day 1, Week 5, and Final Weigh-In on March 11
  • Two winners are crowned – one for most pounds lost and one for highest body fat percentage lost
  • Winners get a free month pass to the local Snap Fitness and half the entry fee dough!

I’ve decided to document my journey – not obsessively – but so you can all follow me, hear/see what I’ve been doing (workout-wise and cooking-wise), cheer me on, and give me tips.

Starting weight: 125.4 (which is a little lower than I thought)
Starting body fat %: 28.5% (definitely more than I thought!)

My plan of action? Try to eat as cleanly as possible by decreasing my intake of meat, processed foods and snacks (and treats!), as well as my alcohol intake (Happy Hours are fun, but they add up!). I’m also going to see a personal trainer this week – who happens to be my spinning instructor, is in her mid-50s, a vegan, and totally ripped! – just to get some good ideas and work on training my mind as well as my body. I don’t plan on going every week, just this once to challenge my body and mind. And of course I’ll be doing an array of workout DVDs!

Now, on to things that you all should check out!

  • Need some new recipes? Have specific ingredients in mind? Check out this website! I’ll be sifting through to find recipes and share them with you guys: http://allrecipes.com/
  • What’s your body fat percentage? Is it healthy? Do you know what the healthy range is for your height, age, and weight? I thought I did… but I was wrong! Check this out: http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/library/blbodyfatcharts.htm
  • Need some inspiration? Ever seen The Biggest Loser? You should check it out! Especially with all of TBL DVDs I review. Tomorrow is the beginning of the new season and it looks crazier than ever because this is Jillian Michaels’ last season AND they are introducing two new mystery trainers (not so sure they’re a mystery now though – the web is full of spoilers!). Check out this season’s trailer: http://www.nbc.com/the-biggest-loser/video/sneak-peek-at-the-biggest-loser/1266757/
  • Something you should start adding to your diet is tea. You’ve heard about the benefits and so you should try it. I drink at least two cups a day. Not only does it help me digest after I eat, it warms me up, and makes me feel like my meal is done. It’s great to drink during the afternoons at the office too! My favs include: green tea, honey lemon tea, and one that is supposed to suppress appetite – mint! Word is Victoria Beckham drinks a lot of mint tea (not that I EVER want to be that skinny!).  I like the Celestial Seasonings and Lipton brands.
  • Working on counting calories? Use the King!: http://www.calorieking.com/
  • And finally, some songs that I love to work out to! Do you have trouble getting pumped up to work out? Well, listen to some of these on your way home from work or wherever and you’ll be dancing in your seat, just itching to get up and start running!:
  1. Deja Vu by Inna ft. Bob Taylor
  2. Commander by Kelly Rowland ft. David Guetta
  3. I Like That! by Richard Vission & Static Revenger ft. Lucian
  4. Hey by Lil Jon ft. 3Oh!3
  5. You Make the Rain Fall by Kevin Rudolf ft. Flo Rida
  6. Kids by MGMT
  7. Memories by David Guetta ft. Kid Cudi
  8. Firework by Katy Perry
  9. Feel It by Three 6 Mafia ft. Sean Kingston and Tiesto
  10. Hey Baby (Drop It to the Floor) by Pitbull ft. T-Pain

Enjoy! Just remember, exercise is a great stress-reliever on top of being important for your health. You’ll sleep better and want to eat better once you start working out more. And it can actually be fun, too. Yeah, that’s right, running can actually be fun!

Comments
  1. Erin says:

    Kels,
    Thanks for these awesome links! I definitely checked them out and will be using them!

  2. 2-thumbs up for posting your weight/body fat on here! I’m excited about this blog as I try to reach my goal of lookin’ good for summer 2011! Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

